Running + Thinking = Rinking?

January 3, 2010 at 5:14 pm 3 comments

Remember last week when I tried and failed not once, but twice, to run 6 miles? It really made me think twice about whether I should even be attempting to train for a half marathon. I was engaging in a serious mental battle about whether to give it up or not.

(Not that I can’t do it period, just whether I can do it in March.) I was thinking if I can’t run 6 miles, then surely I can’t run 7 miles, and if I can’t run 7 then I can’t run 8 or 10 or 11or13. You see what I’m getting at. I don’t want to force myself into a situation where I’m trying to cover too many miles too quickly, because I DO NOT want to end up injured on the sidelines again.

So after thinking and thinking, I pulled out the rough training plan I had made. Where in the heck did I get the idea I needed to be running SIX miles…my calendar says 4!! I don’t need to conquer 6 for weeks….ahhhhh sigh of relief. I CAN do this! :)

And 4 I did :) In the freeeezing cold! I waited as long as I could so it could get as warm as possible outside—it made it all the way to 29 degrees. With a wind chill of 16. Brrr.

So I bundled up and headed outside. At least the sun was shining! It wasn’t bad really, pretty refreshing until the wind would blow! No idea how fast or exactly how far I went, my NIke+ is definitely broken. It said 1.5 miles in 43 minutes. ack. I did run for about 45 minutes along a route I’m pretty sure is close to 4 miles.DSCN0154

i love how much I can get lost in my thoughts when I’m running outside when there’s nothing distracting me. Today I composed a letter in my head to Nikon telling them how much I think their new camera model blows is less than stellar. Now if only I could remember what I actually came up with…

 

Now I’m icing my knees (they’ve been causing trouble lately!) and drinking some yummy hot tea to warm up!

DSCN0151

Yogi Tea: Renew (mm I like this one!)

 DSCN0145 DSCN0148 

And having a post run snack:

DSCN0165 DSCN0161 DSCN0162

 

Then I’m going to curl and up enjoy some evening reading:

DSCN0156

I just noticed it’s due in 2 days and I can’t renew it anymore….I’ve got a lot of reading to do!!

Entry filed under: Training. Tags: , , , .

Happy Birthday Baby Girl! Page to Screen

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katherine  |  January 3, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    You can do it! It’s so easy to get discouraged when training for long distance (I’m also training for a half marathon, but it’s end of February). Keep up the good work.

    Reply
    • 2. rungirlrunn  |  January 4, 2010 at 8:53 am

      Thanks–good luck with your half!

      Reply
  • 3. Shelly  |  January 3, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    I’m glad you won’t be stressing about that 6 miles yet! You can and will do it when it’s time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

