Running Inspiration

March 24, 2010 at 12:07 pm 18 comments

Pizza time!!

Lunch was a conglomeration of leftovers. The last two slices of pizza, some lima beans, and the very few remaining veggies from my tropical rice dish.

lima beans pizza

Work is an insane madhouse today!! I keep looking longingly at the sunshine through the window…..

How’s this for inspiration?

No matter how much you love running (or other workout), we all have our days when we don’t want to do it, or think we can’t. Thinking I can’t gets in my way more than I’d like to admit.

I know there are a TON of inspirational running stories out there, but this one hit home more so than usual, because this guy was running in the same race I was….and he went twice as far. With a brain tumor.

Not even brain cancer could stop this marathoner

I’ll leave you with 3 of my favorite running quotes:

“Racing teaches us to challenge ourselves. It teaches us to push beyond where we thought we could go. It helps us to find out what we are made of. This is what we do. This is what it’s all about.”   -PattiSue Plumer, U.S. Olympian

“If you want to become the best runner you can be, start now. Don’t spend the rest of your life wondering if you can do it.”     -Priscilla Welch

“Run if you can, walk if you have to, crawl if you must, just never give up.”  – Dean Karnazes

What inspires you to run?

Entry filed under: Lunch. Tags: , , .

Funny Fitness Pictures Croak Monsters

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. marathonmaiden  |  March 24, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    haha oh inspirational quotes. i have a 43 page word document with them :)

    Reply
  • 2. Kelly  |  March 24, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    I love those quotes and yes everyone has those days where they just don’t want to do it! My favorite motivational quote is: “One day I will not be able to do this; today s NOT that day!”

    Reply
  • 3. Katie  |  March 24, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    There aren’t a whole lot of things I’ve found that I LOVE to do (yet), but with running, each time I go out and come back it feels like a project I’ve successfully completed.

    Reply
  • 4. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  March 24, 2010 at 5:03 pm

    Wow that really is an inspiration!

    Reply
  • 5. Anna  |  March 24, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    Great quotes! THanks for the inspiration :-)

    Reply
  • 6. Heather  |  March 24, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    I have a picture on my desk with the 4 of us that ran the Disney Half in January – I am remembered of the day and what I have accomplished!

    That is a great motivator.

    Reply
  • 7. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)  |  March 24, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    thanks for stopping by earlier and i love the red pepp and edamame..yum!

    Running is just about being outside and feeling the lovely fresh air and freedom! yay!

    Reply
  • 8. Teacherwoman  |  March 24, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    It’s nice days like these that make me glad I have an inside classroom with no windows.. until I can see out the windows of the classroom across the hall.

    Great quotes!

    Reply
  • 9. hundredtenpounds  |  March 24, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    Thanks for your post. I love the quotes. What inspires me to run is that I never thought I could do it. I was 250+ pounds and never exercised. But 110 pounds later, I just ran my first 8k!

    Reply
    • 10. Heather  |  March 24, 2010 at 9:36 pm

      Congratulations, that’s awesome!!! You should be so proud of yourself! :)

      Reply
  • 11. homecookedem  |  March 24, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    My legs inspire me to run. For years I’ve loathed my legs. Thanks to my grandmother and mother, I have bigger thighs than most… even when I was thin they were still the biggest part of me. But there’s a famous 10K in Atlanta on the 4th of July every year called The Peachtree Road Race and on the 4th mile there’s this crazy hill. As you run up it, you run by the spinal cord patients from Shephard Center who have been wheeled out to the road so they can cheer on the runners. Every stinkin year I get choked up as I struggle up that hill b/c I realize just how blessed I am to have strong legs that can carry me anywhere at anytime.

    Reply
    • 12. Heather  |  March 24, 2010 at 9:36 pm

      What an inspiring story! Thanks for sharing it :)

      Reply
  • 13. Daniel  |  March 24, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    Just getting faster and gaining more endurance gives me inspiration to run. But the motivation comes from the after-effect. Some mornings I don’t want to run at all no matter what but I keep reminding myself of how good it feels when I’m done and I get out there and do it!

    Reply
  • 14. Julie @ Pickley Pear  |  March 24, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    The runner’s high at the end of the run is what keeps me coming back for more! I love your veggie/pizza mix, I love pizza!

    Reply
  • 15. Heather (Where's the Beach)  |  March 24, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    I don’t really consider myself a runner b/c I don’t just love to run. What inspires me though is the fact that I can when others (who want to) cannot. I also enjoy running outside with my husband. It’s just a time when it’s the 2 of us, no work, computers, dogs, chores, etc.

    Reply
  • 16. Amy @ Second City Randomness  |  March 24, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    Oh I love those quotes! They keep me going while I’m off the leg for awhile… :)

    Reply
  • 17. feetinmotion  |  March 24, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    great quotes!! I think having something to run for inspires me to run. I always want to have a goal or be training for something. Then I know it all pays off once I’ve completed the race I’ve trained for or hit the times I want. That’s pure satisfaction.

    Reply
  • 18. Sophie  |  March 24, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    Sometimes I need inspiration just to get on the treadmill. Shows like the Biggest Loser inspire me…if they can run forever on the treadmill, so can I! That show makes me cry every episode :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

