Taco (Salad) Thursday

March 25, 2010 at 2:05 pm 5 comments

I love salad but almost never eat it at home for 2 reasons:

1. I can’t find good looking lettuce

2. I’m too darn lazy to wash it and cut it up (and I don’t like most of those bagged ones that give you maybe half a bowl of salad.)

But luckily I thought ahead the other day and chopped & washed the whole head of lettuce for my taco salad!!

I already had the seasoned corn & black beans mixed in with the lettuce, so I just added some avocado, jalapenos, tortilla chips, salsa, and some Caesar dressing just for kicks.

taco salad

I wanted some Morningstar Farms Chik’n Nuggets on the side, and was so sad to see only 2 lonely nuggets in the bottom of the box. :(

chik'n nuggets

This salad really has me craving some real tacos…

taco salad lunch

I wasn’t quite filled up by that, so followed the salad up with a Quaker True Delights toasted coconut banana macadamia bar and some Jello Rice Pudding. This True Delights flavor is starting to grow on me….I sure wish they’d come up with a shorter name instead of listing all the ingredients. The rice pudding was…ok. Good for convenience, but kind of had a watery aftertaste.

snacks

(Hello somebody needs to wash her placemats….)

Well I’m glad I decided to take it easy and just go for a walk instead of run yesterday- not to be a baby, but my I woke up with my feet hurting 10x more than after running Sunday. Good thing I didn’t run! I think I’m going to stick with non impact activities the rest of the week, then start up a new training plan on Monday.

Entry filed under: Lunch. Tags: , .

Ch-Ch-Ch-Chia! To Publish or Not…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kelly  |  March 25, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    Good for you for listening to your body! Oh and I love that Jello Rice Pudding…one of my faves!!

    Reply
  • 2. Heather (Where's the Beach)  |  March 25, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    I am a salad fanatic. I eat a salad almost every day for lunch. I made a taco salad over the weekend. Hadn’t had one in ages. YUM

    Reply
  • 3. Anna  |  March 25, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    Grrr…I bought a HUGE box of organic lettuce on Sunday, and had to throw it away on Tuesday because it had already gone bad. Makes me SO mad!

    Reply
  • 4. todayslady  |  March 25, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    I love morningstar nuggets!! So sad there were only 2 :( I hate washing and drying lettuce so I always buy the organic boxed stuff. I also don’t have a salad spinner..

    Reply
  • 5. Kelly  |  March 26, 2010 at 9:46 am

    Yum, I love taco salad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

