Roasted Red Peppers & Goat Cheese Quesadillas

August 14, 2009 at 12:12 am Leave a comment

Big fat negative on the training today. Way to go, self, way to go. We’ll pretend it was supposed to be a rest day and get back to it tomorrow. (Don’t remind me of these things when I’m huffing and puffing on the course and can’t figure out why I can’t finish…) Anyways, enter dinner: roasted red pepper & goat cheese quesadillas:

Roasted red pepper & goat cheese quesadilla

Sorry it’s a bit blurry, I just couldn’t wait to dive in.

I guess my grocery store has stopped carrying whole wheat wraps, as they haven’t been there the last couple times I tried to grab some. I got tired of waiting for them to start stocking them again (if ever?!) and decided I’d just have to figure out how to make my own. Thus came my homemade whole wheat tortillas!

For 4 medium sized tortillas:

1 cup whole wheat flour (or whatever kind)

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

a bit more than 1/4 cup hot water

Set aside to rise for a bit (does dough rise without yeast..I think so)

Divide into 4 balls. Roll out flat. Place in saute pan over medium heat for a few seconds on each side. Yummmm. A little thicker than normal wraps, not as thick as a pita. Delish!

For the quesadillas I piled on some sauteed onions and some red pepper I roasted last week. Little bit of Light Original Swiss Laughing Cow, pepper, dried basil, and a ton of goat cheese. Heated it up a bit more and instant gourmet dinner. When I was planning this dish in my head I picture some baby spinach leaves, but turns out I used the last of the batch in my soup yesterday. Would have been a great addition, along with some fresh basil leaves. Went perfectly with a little glass of wine…Barefoot Pinot Grigio, my absolute favorite! (and only 5 bucks!–you’d never know)

Entry filed under: Dinner. Tags: , .

Starting off on the right foot…or off the foot I guess it is Plan B…C….Z..

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

August 2009
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

