The Swim: 1st Tri- Part 1

October 1, 2009 at 3:30 pm Leave a comment

After waking at the crack of down, I drowsily climbed into the pre-loaded car with pre-race breakfast in hand: 2 whole grain waffles slathered with PB, bananas, and walnuts (and coffee to wash it down of course). The husband was such a sport- getting up early to take me to the race (he really had no idea what he was getting into, or why I considered this “fun”).  We had no problem finding the race site, and had plenty of time to check out what was going on.  I picked up my timing chip and got a quick lesson on how to strap in on my ankle, and then to body marking I went.  This is when I realized I was really about to do this.  My mom and I have volunteered in the past passing out water and gatorade at a triathlon that goes through her neighborhood, and she’s always said she would love to have the job of body-marking ;).

 

The swim was 300m up and back in a pool. (Figured a  pool was a good place to try this for the 1st time- one less thing to worry about!).  The start was staggered, with a person starting every 10 seconds.  Apparently this is quite different from regular start formats, but I have no idea how they normally do it. This seemed to work pretty well as far as I was concerned.  First went all the elite swimmers and club members, then the slowest seeded swimmers, then everyone in the middle.  I guess I was in the middle because I started near the end of the pack.

I felt pretty good about the swim.  I probably wasn’t going as fast as I could have, but since I didn’t really know how I’d handle it, I didn’t want to end up drowning.  It was pretty similar to practicing in the pool, but with so many people swimming at the same time towards the same side of the pool, there was quite a current created.  I was working hard just to stay in the lane I was supposed to be in.  I keep misjudging how far I was from the wall when it came time to duck under the lane lines, but that was ok.  I think my goggles were messing with my depth perception a little bit.

Overall I was quite pleased with my swim performance; I even passed one or two people.

Then came the bike…

Entry filed under: Race. Tags: , .

My First TRI! The Bike: 1st Tri- Part 2

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

