Fill the Cup Campaign

November 30, 2009 at 5:56 pm 1 comment

I’m SO excited for this weekend…Saturday the husband and I are hosting our first Christmas party!! And what makes it really exciting is that we’re doing it with a twist…we’re making it a charity event for the World Food Programme’s Fill the Cup Campaign.

A little about the campaign:

“Fill the Cup” aims, literally, to fill a cup with food for all of the 59 million children who go to school hungry throughout developing countries around the world – boosting their chances for health, education and a more promising future.

“A child dies of hunger every six seconds. WHO has declared hunger and malnutrition the number-one threat to public health,” said Josette Sheeran, Executive Director of the World Food Programme.

Hunger is a #1 threat? That absolutely floored me when I first read it, and I couldn’t just ignore it.

I’m well aware that many people aren’t able to donate to charities even if they really want to. However, it only takes 25 cents to fill a cup with food. I have 25 cents on my washing machine and probably under the floor mats in my car too. And I’m willing to bet most of my friends do too. The World Food Programme would probably laugh if I mailed them a quarter, but if we all put our quarters together it could make a pretty big impact.

So that’s what I’m doing Saturday, and I can’t wait for it!!!

Entry filed under: Other. Tags: .

Treadmilling to my Heart's Content The Girl Effect

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. brandi  |  December 1, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    wow, what an awesome idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

