Channeling Galloway: Giving the Walk/Run Method a Try

December 7, 2009 at 10:35 pm 2 comments

[I just sent in our Fill the Cup donation! I still can’t believe we raised almost $150!!]

I realize I’ll never get anywhere if I push myself, end up hurting myself, then need to rest for a week to recover. Gotta try something else, so this morning I decided to give the Galloway Method a go.

galloway

I often alternate speeds on the treadmill to keep myself entertaining (and so I can last!) anyway, so why not intentional walk and run at specific intervals? I was just telling a friend about the Galloway method this weekend and suggested she try it, when I’ve never really given it a fair chance myself.  She said she didn’t want to because if you walked you couldn’t call yourself a “real runner”.  I can see where she’s coming from, but I disagree. Walking breaks or not, running takes stamina and perseverance, and that’s what makes you a real runner!

zrun

Anyways, back to my run this morning.  After a 5 minute warm-up, I alternated 3 minutes at 5.7 and 1 minute at 3.5 and repeated for 30 minutes. When I saw I had about 2 minutes to go I bumped it up to 6.0 so I could cross the 3-mile mark  🙂

I guess this averages out to 11 or 12 min/mile pace, which is sllloowww. But hey, 3 miles is 3 miles, right?

My thoughts on the Galloway method? I’m definitely giving it some more thought and will be incorporating it into my running.  I felt energized, never got super tired even though I ran for 35 minutes, and I wasn’t aching! The true test will be to see how I feel later tonight 🙂

I will probably start trying to do more run/walking so I can cover more distance to build endurance without increasing my chance of injury.  Hopefully by slowly increasing the running time and decreasing the walking time I can get faster too!

Entry filed under: Training. Tags: , , , .

Christmas Charity Success! Foam Rolling?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. parismtnstriding  |  December 9, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    The City of Oaks Marathon / Half Marathon caters to Galloway runners. They have signs showing you where to stop and walk.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

