Foam Rolling?

December 8, 2009 at 3:21 pm 3 comments

Pumpkin oats this time!

DSCN1001 DSCN0999 DSCN1000

Pretty much my usual combo: oats, almond milk, loads of cinnamon, nutmeg, pecans, plus unsweetened coconut, cottage cheese, and canned pumpkin. Topped with a spoonful of PB of course 🙂

 

 

Recently I’ve started using a foam roller after my runs to help stretch out my IT band. I haven’t been having any problems with it recently, so I’m going to keep the foam rolling as part of my routine just as insurance.

zfoam

If I’m already foam rolling, I might as well incorporate a little more, but the only thing I know how to use it for is my hip!

I found this article about foam rolling for runners helpful, but it’s a little hard to figure out if I’m doing it right or not.

What foam rolling exercises do you do, if any? Any tips?!

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Injury prevention. Tags: , , , , .

Channeling Galloway: Giving the Walk/Run Method a Try Cupcakes Galore

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. aron  |  December 8, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    I ❤ my foam roller! I use it mostly for my ITB and hip/butt areas too. Sometimes I use it for my calves.

    I have a long one that I lay on and it goes from under my butt up along my back and my shoulders wrap around it. It really helps to open up my back/shoulders and relax them.

    Reply
    • 2. rungirlrunn  |  December 9, 2009 at 7:22 pm

      I’ll have to try it on my shoulders, I bet that feels good after being tense from a run!

      Reply
  • 3. brandi  |  December 9, 2009 at 9:13 am

    I’ve never done foam rolling, but i’ve heard it can be really helpful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

