Just Runnnning in the Rain!

December 13, 2009 at 1:08 pm 1 comment

I woke up this morning to the pitter-pattering of rain. While this might be a comforting sound to some, it wasn’t what I wanted to hear- I didn’t want anything interfering with my planned 4 miles today!

zrain

Don’t worry, I didn’t let a little rain stop me. I threw on the layers, taped up my feet, wrapped my Ipod in a plastic bag, and topped it off with a hat. If I could only give 2 tips about running in the rain-

1. Wear a hat! (One with a brim) It’ll help keep the rain out of your eyes and off your nose!

2. Wrap your Ipod or other devices in something waterproof, even if it’s a plastic baggie with holes for your headphones!

There are many sights I would love to see on a run…my breath is not one of them!

zb

34 degrees plus rain….BRRR!!! Despite the less than stellar conditions, my run went great! First and foremost, I finished 4 miles! While this may seem like nothing to some of you awesome runners, in light of the past year, I am extremely satisfied with this.

The first half of the route I ran this morning forced me to stay mostly on the concrete sidewalk, which my knees are telling me was quite unfortunate.

ws

I threw in a couple quick less than 30 second walk breaks during the first 3 miles. The last mile was the toughest- at one point I was alternating running and walking from mailbox to mailbox! Overall, it went well. It took me 47 minutes, which I guess put me at 11-12 minute miles, which is ungodly slow, but for now I’m ignoring that. (I’m trying to remember I’m running smart now).

After my run I dunked my feet in a ice bath in the sink, and now I’m icing my knees and drinking some delicious Dark Chocolate Gingerbread Cocoa to warm up! As soon as I’m done got I’ve Christmas cookie baking to do!

Entry filed under: Training. Tags: , .

Fast Food Breakfast on the Go Covered Head to Toe in Flour

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  December 13, 2009 at 4:33 pm

    Congrats on the run! I am super impressed that you didn’t let the rain get in the way of your planned run 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

