5 Miles Conquered

December 22, 2009 at 6:38 pm 3 comments

I think.

The treadmill said 5. My Nike+ said 4.4. I’m going with the treadmill because it makes me feel good 🙂

I knew the mileage would be off when I was running at 6.0 mph (which the treadmill said was a 10:00 min/mile pace), then I checked my Nike+ for fun and it said I was running at 9:03 min/mile. (While that would be awesome, I knew I was definitely not running that fast). Then at the end of my run, my Ipod said a lower total than the treadmill at a slower pace? I don’t get it. Oh well! 

I almost didn’t make my goal. I thought I had psyched myself out by setting my goal too high. Then I got to 2.5 miles at about 30 minutes and I knew I could do it. I was half way!

That was all well and good until I got to 3 and started thinking I couldn’t do it again. I told myself just to go as far as I could, at least I had done 3. When I got to 3.5 I told myself to go for 4, then I was at least meeting my furthest distance so far. Of course I get to 4 and say I’m so close, I’m just gonna do it. I decided I would either hit 5, or stop when my 60 minute allotment on the treadmill was up. Seeing the timer edge closer and closer to 60 was all the motivation I needed to get to 5! 🙂

I mostly ran the whole time, but I did throw in some 30-ish second walk breaks to recover. There was definitely quite a few extra breaks in the last mile or so, but it’s what I needed to get through.

And heck, even if it only was 4.4, it’s still the farthest I’ve been in quite some time, and that’s great.

The grocery store is conveniently on the way home from the gym, so I stopped and treated myself to some sushi for dinner.

My “seaside combo”:

DSCN1505

DSCN1506

This is my usual grocery store-sushi go-to…it’s the only roll without cucumbers! (I hate cucumber, and picking them out of each roll gets old).

With some veggies on the side:

DSCN1496

DSCN1497 

Can’t say I had too many veggies on my trip, and I was definitely craving some!

 

Now I’m off to clean like crazy….I want to enjoy the holidays in a clean house 🙂

Entry filed under: Training. Tags: , , , .

Blizzard Running? Broken Bum

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  December 22, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    Congrats on the great run! I hate it when the ‘gadets’ don’t add up and you don’t know how far you have gone – its amazing how different they can all be!
    oooh that sushi looks so yummy too! I think I might go get some for lunch 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. parismtnstriding  |  December 22, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    Congrats on the great workout. 5 miles on a treadmill is harder than 10 miles on the road!

    Reply
  • 3. Kristine  |  December 22, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    id definitely go with the treadmill! congrats!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

