Blizzard Running?

December 22, 2009 at 1:59 pm 3 comments

No thanks!!

Well that lovely wedding snow turned into a full-out blizzard!! I’ve been hearing there was anywhere between 16 to 23 inches…either way, that’s quite a lot of snow!

DSCN1453DSCN1454 

  DSCN1474

Needless to say, my running efforts were thwarted by Mr. Blizzard 09. (I did, however, squeeze in my fair share of cardio thanks to endless shoveling!) The easiest way to skip a workout on vacation is to not be prepared. While I though I had prepared for everything, I was wrong. I packed running gear for cold, for rain, for the treadmill- I even arranged for guest passes at a local gym.  However SNOW never occurred to me! The one thing I was not prepared for was running in more than a foot and a half of snow!

DSCN1472DSCN1444

I did try: (plastic bags and masking tape)

DSCN1457

(Wasn’t quite enough though haha)

My plan is to get back on track today now that I’m home. I hope to hit the treadmill after work to make-up my missed 5 miler on Sunday. Hope everyone who had snowed enjoyed it 🙂

Entry filed under: Other. Tags: , .

Wedding Snow 5 Miles Conquered

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kristine  |  December 22, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    Wow! That’s a lot of snow! We got a ton too

    Reply
  • 2. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  December 22, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    oh my it looks FREEZING! haha i LOVE the makeshift waterproof shoes – ingenious 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. onelittlejill  |  December 24, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    The blizzard ruined my weekly running too!!! Just got out today for my first one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

