Christmas Weekend Recap: Part 1

December 30, 2009 at 4:57 pm Leave a comment

I celebrated Christmas with family this past weekend after they surprised me at my front door Christmas night!

DSCN0014

We each opened one present on “Christmas Eve” (aka Christmas to the rest of the world), which seems to have become a new family tradition. Then we all went to bed to dream of sugarplums and reindeer hooves dancing on the rooftop.

I really did have trouble sleeping- I felt like I was 6 again, unable to sleep in eager anticipation of Santa’s arrival. Except this time I was excited because I couldn’t believe my family was actually here!! I kept waking up and needed to remind myself it wasn’t a dream.

Eventually morning rolled around. We started “Christmas” (aka Saturday) with delicious homemade cinnamon cake made with applesauce. (I only had blueberry applesauce, but you couldn’t notice when it was cooked at all!) Apparently we were so eager to celebrate no one even sat down at the table!

DSCN0016

Then came stockings for the “kids’.

DSCN0011

Then we casually opened gifts and enjoyed spending the morning together. I love watching people’s faces as they open the gifts I’ve chosen for them. My mom and step-dad both got plenty of books, my step-sister and bro-in-law got lots of kitchenware. My husband got Rockband (aren’t I a good wifey?). My gifts seemed to have a theme: cooking or running 🙂 I got a new blender, a SpiBelt, and a subscription to Runner’s World!

zrunzblend

I’d say we enjoyed throwing the paper at each other almost as much as opening gifts!The end result:

DSCN0024

After the festivities we went to meet my in-laws for lunch. My step-dad LOVES barbeque, so there was no question where we would go. I almost watched his heart break as we pulled up to the restaurant and quickly realized it was closed. He doesn’t give up easily where barbeque is concerned, so we drove across town to check out their other location and success!!

I had a barbeque sandwich topped with lots of their secret barbeque sauce and I may or may not have stolen several of the husband’s hush puppies (you can’t beat fried cornbread).

Then we came home and rocked out!

DSCN0030 DSCN0033 DSCN0034The rocking continued throughout the dinner preparations. I made my own version of a Christmas dinner. We ended the night with some movie watching and card playing.

Part 2 coming soon!

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch. Tags: , , , , , .

Dinner Revisited…Again Christmas Weekend Recap: Part 2

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

