Christmas Weekend Recap: Part 2

December 31, 2009 at 7:58 am Leave a comment

Did you check out Part 1 of my Christmas weekend?!

Sunday morning arrived at a leisurely pace…one by one everyone woke up and made their way downstairs. We planned to go to breakfast, but it was taking quite awhile to get everyone up and ready, so I had a quick snack of coffee toast while my mom and I chatted in the kitchen.

We decided in the driveway to turn breakfast into brunch instead. The family wanted something “local” instead of a chain, so we headed towards Village Tavern, a restaurant known for it’s scrumptious brunch. I was pleasantly surprised to find the brunch prices were quite reasonable!

After a slight mishap- about 3 rounds of tea before we got hot water, and a cup dumped on my brother-in-law- we were presented with a delicious brunch.

I started with a fresh-baked apple walnut muffin with a touch of whipped honey butter. MMmmm. Then I had the Cruz Bay Breakfast: Spicy black beans served over toasted English muffin halves with two poached eggs, grated Cheddar, fresh chopped tomatoes, spring onions and sour cream. Served with Tavern hash browns. I skipped the tomatoes and asked for the sour cream on the side.

It was delicious!!! I made a mental note of everything on my plate so I could recreate this dish at home.

After brunch we did some shopping and strolling around.

Eventually we made our way to an early dinner (since we had such a late brunch). My step-dad chose Outback Steakhouse. I’m not a big steak eater, so I wasn’t really excited, but I found a great-sounding tilapia dish on the menu and decided to give it a shot.

I started with a Chopped Blue Cheese Pecan Salad with romaine, blue cheese, candied pecans, shredded carrots, and a vinaigrette-type dressing (I’m not sure what kind it was) and a glass of house red. And of course a slice or two of bread 🙂

zbre zsal

Then came the main course. Tilapia topped with stuffing, white button mushrooms, and lump crab meat and finished with lemon butter Chablis sauce. I asked for the sauce on the side because I wasn’t sure if I’d like it—turns out I didn’t. It was also served with fresh veggies.

ztil

I ate about half of my entree, and I’m glad I did because then came dessert:

zpie

My mom, husband, and I split the dessert trio which was a warm pecan brownie topped with vanilla ice cream, peanut butter pie, and cheesecake with raspberry sauce. I ate the peanut butter pie  🙂 (On the right)

After dinner we drove around looking at Christmas lights. There’s a nearby neighborhood that does such a fantastic job with tree light balls that people often drive through slowly with their headlights turned off. My pictures didn’t really work so well.

DSCN0039

Then we went home and watched Wanted before going to bed. I had NO idea it was going to be such a good movie! I had no interest in seeing it but was playing along to be a good sport- boy, was I surprised. The filming was amazing, and it ended up being a pretty good story too.

My family had to head back home the next morning, but I was SO glad they came and can’t wait to see them again!

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Dinner. Tags: , , , , , .

Christmas Weekend Recap: Part 1 Resolutions for 2010

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

