Resolutions for 2010

December 31, 2009 at 8:00 am 2 comments

I didn’t make any resolutions in 2009. I tend to shy away from things like New Year’s Resolutions because I don’t like setting myself up for failure, and I don’t really like doing things just because that’s what people do.

I’ve been thinking this year that maybe I haven’t made resolutions because I never took the time to really think about it. So now I’ve been thinking about it.

I started by reflecting on some things I’ve accomplished this year:

– I started running again.

– I completed a triathlon. I swam. I biked. I ran.

– I’ve overcome an injury (well, work in progress..but progress is progress)

– I finally threw that charity Christmas party I’ve always thought about but never did

– Got into grad school!

My list isn’t long. (Although I’m proud of what’s on it). But I didn’t set any goals, and I didn’t set my sights high. I think I will this year. And if I fail, my list for 2011 will be that much easier to make 🙂

I’ll think of these more as “suggestions” rather than resolutions per se.

Stay injury free

– Listen to my body. Don’t go crazy. Run smart.

Run regularly

– Ideally 3 times per week. Less only if related to above goal.

Finish a half marathon

– In March! In March I’d like to finish. After that I’d like to work on sub 2 hours if I’m still in one piece. (This may not seem to go with the goal above, but I hope to utilize cross-training to the fullest)

Compete in another triathlon- not just finish by the skin of my teeth

– August, if not sooner.

Find freelance writing

– I love writing and want to build my experience to enhance future endeavors. I love nothing more than to sit at my desk in my office, basking in the afternoon sunshine, writing.

Start my own nutrition business

– My dream is to start an online nutrition counseling practice. Who says dreams need to wait? I want to have my business up and running by May.

Get into grad school (I’ve applied…I’m still waiting with fingers crossed) I start January 11th!

Cook more often

– Much to my chagrin, I’ve discovered the world of frozen pizzas- dinner for two for $4 in 11-13 minutes? Yup that’s nice. I enjoy cooking- I don’t know why I’ve let it get away from me. With a little planning I can make a meal just as cheap and easily, but full of health instead. Heck,  I even make a pretty good pizza from scratch 🙂 I plan to make at least one new recipe a week this year. Even if it means drawing a random number out of a hat to pick a page in a cookbook 😉

Stop my love affair with Target.

– I’m usually financially savvy–until it comes to my endless obsession with “just stopping by” Target. I never come out empty handed.

Keep my house clean

– I’m a pretty organized person. I’ve been described as Type A and OCD on more than one occasion, but I think my husband’s exact opposite characteristics have been rubbing off on me this year. I’d like to keep the clutter-accumulation under control (not setting things down to put away later, using downtime waiting for something to clean up a little, etc.)

Stop procrastinating!!

– If there were awards for procrastinating, I would undoubtedly clinch first place. In other areas I’m a perfectionist, so this doesn’t really jive with that. Imagine all the things I could accomplish if I just did them!

As a reread this post, I realized I have 10 resolutions…seems appropriate, right? It’s my 10 for ‘10 🙂

Although I do have a bonus resolution:

Appreciate the little things in life; don’t get irritated so easily.

– This has little need for explanation. Irritation is just leads to negativity. Appreciation is nothing but positive.

Do you make resolutions? If you could only pick one resolution to make, what would it be?

Entry filed under: Other. Tags: , , , , .

Christmas Weekend Recap: Part 2 Running Unplugged and DJ Earworm 09

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. onelittlejill  |  December 31, 2009 at 11:35 am

    I love your resolutions. We share a few…mostly, I also want to freelance and I MUST stop my love affair with Target!

    Reply
  • 2. aron  |  January 4, 2010 at 2:38 am

    great goals 🙂 HAPPY 2010!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

