Running Unplugged and DJ Earworm 09

December 31, 2009 at 11:05 am 1 comment

Imagine the world of running before the infiltration of gadgets, gear, and GPSs. A run with no numbers in mind. No way to know how far you ran, or how fast you went. No knowledge of splits, tempo, pace, finish time. Would it be pointless? or relaxing? I’d have to say I’d chose the latter.

I’ve been struggling to force myself to run this 6 miles that I just can’t seem to do. As I engaged in mental battle with myself, I started to wonder why it mattered. WHY was I trying to run 6 miles when clearly my body wasn’t ready? Because a sheet of paper says I’m supposed to? Because if I don’t I won’t be able to run 7 next week? Because other people can?

All silly reasons. Who cares?! Nobody really,  so why I’m I making myself care? With this new philosophy in mind, yesterday I drove to a park halfway between my house and work, laden with running trails. No nagging numbers on the treadmill, scrolling dreadfully slow, reminding just how far away I was from my target.  My mind was clear of any sort of goal. Just to run until I felt like turning around and running the other way. If it was 6 miles, awesome. If it was 1, equally awesome.

And awesome it was. I quickly became enraptured in the beauty of my surroundings. Who knew, that just an extra left hand turn on my way to work could lead to an entirely different world. No cars, no traffic lights, no looming tall buildings. Just trees, grass, and dirt. I had no idea where I was going, I just haphazardly chose a path whenever I came to an intersection of trails. Paved, gravel, mud, dirt.

It brought me back to what running was about. Getting lost in your mind, experiencing something greater than yourself. It was absolutely freeing. I almost felt smacked in the face when I stopped running and was brought back to “reality”. Somehow I managed to loop all the way back to my car, when I thought I was running the complete opposite direction. Imagine how lost I could have been. I guess I ran for about 35-40 minutes. I wore my Nike+ but resisted the urge to constantly check it (it was a bit harder to detach from than I thought). I still have no idea how far I ran- the final report said I ran 1.3 miles. Now, I know I’m slow as molasses, but I’m pretty sure I could walk farther than that in 30 minutes. It also said my average pace was 0 miles per hour, which I know to be false since I did in fact move from one point to another. But it doesn’t matter- I had a wonderful, refreshing run, and it was well-timed to remind what it’s all about anyway.

On another note, this is freaking awesome:

It’s DJ Earworm’s United State of Pop 2009- a mash up of the 25 Top Billboard hits of 2009.

Hope you all enjoy the last day of the year!

Entry filed under: Training, Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Resolutions for 2010 Welcome 2010!!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Shelly  |  January 1, 2010 at 12:12 am

    That is why we all should run…simply for the joy of it!

    Happy New Year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

