Sweet Tooth Fairy

January 1, 2010 at 12:02 pm 2 comments

It seems this holiday season my sweet tooth has gotten the best of me. Normally I’m not too big on sweets- I like them, enjoy them when they’re there, but don’t miss them when they’re not. Recently that has not been the case. Exactly the opposite actually. I’d say for about the past month or maybe even more, I’ve been eating so many sweets- candies, cookies, pies, cake- that I’m now craving them. Realllly craving them. I know that when you don’t eat a lot of sugar your “need” for it decreases. I’ve never experienced it though since I haven’t been a huge dessert person. Heck, I don’t even use that much artificial sweetener. But now I’m seeing the ugly side of sugar.

As the holidays pass, I’m going to need to nip this habit in the butt! I won’t be putting sugar on the X list- that strategy has never appealed to me, but I will be trying to ease back.

Cutting Back the Sugar

– Outta sight, outta mind! Not having sweets around all the time will definitely help. They seem to be everywhere- my house, work, the inlaws’, friends’…

– Eat sweets because you want to enjoy the taste, not because they’re just there (that’s been my biggest problem recently..)

– Try alternatives like gum or mints to ease your craving. Try sweeter foods like fruit instead.

I just noticed that I’m sitting next to a pile of Twix, Sneakers, and Reese’s Pieces that came from my Christmas stocking. I can’t believe I’ve come so far as to actually have candy on my couch…!!

DSCN0088 DSCN0087

I’m keeping one and giving the rest away. (How’s that for compromise!)

Entry filed under: Other. Tags: .

Welcome 2010!! Resolution Run- 1st Race Report of 2010!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shelly  |  January 1, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    Keep the Twix!!…wait keep the Snickers…no keep the Reese’s…Ahhhhh It’s hard to only keep one!

    Reply
    • 2. rungirlrunn  |  January 2, 2010 at 8:55 am

      Maybe I’ll keep one of each and share them with someone 🙂 haha!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

