Resolution Run- 1st Race Report of 2010!

January 2, 2010 at 9:37 am 8 comments

I decided to literally start the new year off on the right foot. This morning I rolled out of bed, bundled up, and laced up my running shoes. After a quick bowl of Cheerios and half a cup of coffee, I headed out the door to a nearby park for the 2010 Resolution Run 5K.

zrun

There was quite a turnout, and there were tons of people herding towards the start line as I arrived. The walk to the start was almost as long as the race itself—what a great warm up! (I knew the girl directing traffic, so I actually got a prized spot in a closer parking lot, but it was still a trek.) So many people showed up they ran out of t-shirts—I didn’t get one even though I was pre-registered :(.

Instead of a registration fee, the only requirement was that every racer bring 10 canned food items.

The weatherman had originally been calling for freezing temperatures and ice, so I brought lots of layers with me. I don’t know what he was talking about because it was about 40 degrees. I ended running with a light running jacket, headband, and gloves, and was quite comfortable.

The 5K followed an out and back path through the park. It was a pretty narrow trail, so it was quite crowded at the beginning. I have no idea how I ended up near the front of the pack at the start line, but I shouldn’t have been there! People were passing me right and left- I felt like I was in the way, but I just moved to the side and tried to stay out of the main path.

I resisted the urge to keep up with the pack because I knew if I started that fast I would never make it.  I wrestled with a pretty bad cramp in my right side for about the first mile, but I kept taking deep breaths and did my best to work through it.

The turn around was just after an old wooden bridge. The bridge bounced with frightening flexibility as the pack of runners pounded across it. It was a strange feeling have the ground bounce beneath at a different pulse than my steps!

I almost laughed out loud at one point when I heard a man say behind me “I’ll be damned if I get beat by a girl in pink flowered shorts!” (They were actually palm trees, but you know. She was right in front of me. I wonder if she beat him)

I felt like I finally hit my groove just after the 2 mile point. I picked up the pace a little, and decided to finish strong. The course ended with not one, but two fairly steep hills that lead to the finish line. I usually sprint in the last leg of a race, but it was all I could do to keep my momentum up the hills!

I crossed the finish line at 29:23! Slow in comparison to my old 5K times, but in my new era of running I was pretty happy with this. I was expecting to finish around 30 minutes or just after, so I’m quite pleased. I averaged a 9:29 pace, which I feel pretty good about. I think I came in 215 or so out of 514. For some reason my age didn’t show up in the results, so I don’t know where I finished in my age group.

DSCN0113

After some stretching, I grabbed a post-race bagel with peanut butter and a nice warm cup of coffee.  I think this was the best bagel I’ve ever had. (And I don’t think it was just the post-run euphoria teasing my tastebuds.)

 DSCN0116 

DSCN0115

I had half walking back to my car, and had the other half while I was icing my butt when I got home.

DSCN0124

My feet seemed to do semi-ok—better than my butt fared! (Which I think is good in some weird, twisted way.)

I got a late Christmas present that I tested out too (even though I didn’t really need to!)

DSCN0121

Pink Recovery Socks!

Definitely a great way to start off a  new year!!

Entry filed under: Race. Tags: , , , .

Sweet Tooth Fairy Ring in the New Year!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. onelittlejill  |  January 2, 2010 at 10:18 am

    I love your socks!!!!!

    Reply
  • 2. ShutupandRun  |  January 2, 2010 at 11:17 am

    Funny what the guys said about you in the flowery shorts. You should have yelled at him that they were PALM TREES not FLOWERS! Did you beat him?

    Reply
    • 3. rungirlrunn  |  January 3, 2010 at 8:48 am

      haha it was actually the girl in front of me in the flowery shorts, but I’m pretty sure she beat him!! I hope she heard him too 🙂

      Reply
  • 4. Denise  |  January 2, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    I think that is the best race entry fee!! What a great idea!! Congrats on a great race to ring in the new year!!

    I have those recovery socks and love them. They got me through Ultra training!

    Reply
  • 5. Ulyana  |  January 2, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    WOW, you blog is totally awesome! Thanks for stopping by at mine. Happy New Year! I look forward to following you.

    Reply
    • 6. rungirlrunn  |  January 3, 2010 at 8:49 am

      Thanks! I love yours too!

      Reply
  • 7. Shelly  |  January 2, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    I love those pink socks!

    The pcitures of the course are beautiful. I’d love to run there!

    I couldn’t get any local-yolkalls to go out for a midnight NYE or NYD run…so I did both solo…and loved them!

    Reply
    • 8. rungirlrunn  |  January 3, 2010 at 8:49 am

      Wow good for you!! I would love to do a midnight run!! Maybe next year…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

