Ring in the New Year!

January 2, 2010 at 11:16 am 1 comment

The husband and I celebrated New Year’s by visiting some family and friends. I made a couple treats to take with us to each location.

DSCN0070 DSCN0091DSCN0098

Cheerios bars, grilled cheese sticks, and peanut butter chocolate chip cookies!

First up the cookies! The host of one of the get-togethers has celiac disease, so I racked my brain for some gluten-free ideas. Enter peanut butter chocolate chip cookies…I really don’t think anyone had any idea they were gluten-free either!

1 cup peanut butter (I used mostly chunky, but some creamy)

1 cup sugar

1 egg

1 egg white

1/4 cup peanut butter chips

1/4 cup chocolate chips

Cream together pb, sugar, and eggs. Stir in chips. Chill for a few minutes to firm. Form into balls. Cook at 350 for 15 minutes. Enjoy.

DSCN0052 DSCN0056DSCN0087

Next up: Cheerio treats! (Like Rice Krispies Treats but with Honey Nut Cheerios)

Melt butter and marshmallows together (I didn’t measure— I just guessed). Quickly stir in Cheerios before mallow mixture cools. Stir in goodies—I used unsweetened coconut flakes, peanut butter chips, and chocolate chips. Spread into well-greasd pan. Then I melted some chocolate chips and drizzled over the top. Cut when cooled.

DSCN0058

Be careful microwaving marshmallows—they magically transform into GIANT marshmallow puffs, and I wouldn’t be surprised if they exploded.

DSCN0060 DSCN0061DSCN0070

Last but not least, Grilled Cheese Sticks.

Your basic grilled cheese, with a twist- spinach pesto.

Pesto:

Spinach leaves, garlic, lemon juice, toasted pine nuts, grated parm cheese, olive oil

Cheese: I mixed shredded gouda, jack and cheddar.

Spread pesto on butter whole wheat bread. Top with shredded cheese. Grill. (I pressed mine flat with a brick). For extra zing, rub a cut open garlic clove on the outside of the bread.

DSCN0066DSCN0062 DSCN0073 DSCN0081 DSCN0084

I cut them into individual slices for party-ease.

DSCN0091

After counting down to midnight and a champagne toast, I hit the sack at about 2:30am—WAY past my bedtime!!

The first day of the new year was filled with running, football, and food!

Check out my Resolution Run race report!

After running, icing, and showering, the husband and I headed over to the in-law’s for a day full of bowl games. Football, football, and more football.

DSCN0135

Ok I won’t lie….instead of watching 20 hours of football I was really reading this:

DSCN0132

My mother-in-law did LOTS of cooking! When we walked in the door she said this was lunch, dinner, and everything in between. She made black eyed peas, collard greens, cabbage, meatballs, pigs in a blanket, taco dip, and chili (not pictured- but much enjoyed!)

My in-laws follow the New Year’s tradition of eating black eyed peas, collard greens, and cabbage on the first day of the year for luck, fortune, and something else.* I’d never heard of any of it before I met them! (But I’m not going to risk it- I had some of each!)

*After doing some research, apparently the black eyed peas mean prosperity because they swell when cooked, and the greens symbolize money. The cabbage also seems to symbolize prosperity.

DSCN0128

Check out these New Year’s giveaways:

Starbucks card from Adventures in Running

One More Mile swag from It’s Just One Foot in Front of the Other

Do you have any New Year’s traditions?

Entry filed under: Dinner, Lunch. Tags: , , , .

Resolution Run- 1st Race Report of 2010! Races, Training, Calendars, oh my!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Shelly  |  January 2, 2010 at 11:43 pm

    That all looks so yummy. We love grilled cheese at our house.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

