Races, Training, Calendars, oh my!

January 3, 2010 at 7:56 am 7 comments

My potential 2010 race calendar thus far:

1.10.2010. Resolution Run = check!

3.21.2010 Tobacco Road Half Marathon

4.25.2010 Blossoms of Hope Half Marathon

5.23.2010 Greensboro Triathlon

6.?.2010 36 North Tri (Not yet scheduled for ‘10)

8.22.2010 Aflac Iron Girl Columbia Triathlon

9.18.2010 Angels Race Triathlon

10.09 or 16.2010 Half Marathon

I will be considering each of these on an individual basis based on lack-of-injury or not condition 🙂

The only ones I’m actually banking on so far are the Tobacco Road Half and the Iron Girl Tri. I would love to do the 36 North Tri since it’s the tri I started with last year, but I don’t know if it’s going to be held or not this year. It would be a great practice run for the Iron Girl!

I’m very very excited about the Tobacco Road Half. I was getting ready to sign up for the Blossoms of Hope Half in April when my best friend from college told me she wanted to run the Tobacco Road Half. Pretty soon another friend and I had agreed to train and run it with her!

Only catch is the three of us are spread out over 512 miles apart!! It will still be great motivation having friends to run “with” and to support each other. And knowing 2 familiar faces will be at the starting line is enough to keep me going 🙂

My main goal will be to train SMART for this half. Keeping my feet in the best condition possible is THE single most important thing. That being said, I made a training plan to try to increase mileage slowly and smartly, but the determining factor will be how my body feels. Worst case scenario, I can’t run the race, but you can bet I will still be cheering on the sidelines no matter what. (Although ideally I will be cheering myself across the finish line!)

My training plan is my own hybrid of a couple plans I’ve looked at, mostly Hal Higdon’s novice plan.  I tried to include a fair amount of cross training to save my feet for running. That means my runs will really have to count!

image

image

image

(I’m working on putting this in an Excel spreadsheet so it’s easier to follow)

I don’t know how I feel about the last two weeks leading up to the race being 9 and 10 miles each. This article from Runner’s World suggests 2 weeks to taper before a half. I’m going to leave my schedule as is for now though, because I’m not sure I want to increase my mileage any faster (which I’d have to do in order to include the taper). I’ll re-evaluate later 🙂

Entry filed under: Training. Tags: , , .

Ring in the New Year! Happy Birthday Baby Girl!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather  |  January 3, 2010 at 9:48 am

    My parents wanted me to run the Tobacco Road 1/2 marathon – it is right by their house!

    I will be at FitBloggin that weekend though.

    Good luck with all your races!

    Reply
    • 2. rungirlrunn  |  January 3, 2010 at 1:03 pm

      Oh how neat!! Have fun at FitBloggin- it sounds like it’ll be great!

      Reply
  • 3. carol  |  January 3, 2010 at 11:02 am

    Great race schedule! The surface of the American Tobacco trail is perfect for running – crushed stone is so easy on the body. I ran there after my Ironman foot injury to let it heal. It’s a 30 min drive from home, so only run there when I need to. Love it, tho!

    Reply
    • 4. rungirlrunn  |  January 3, 2010 at 1:04 pm

      That’s good to know! I can’t wait to check it out 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Shelly  |  January 3, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    Lots of great races in store for you! Good luck staying injury free and enjoying them all.

    Reply
  • 6. Ashely  |  January 3, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    Hi! I stumbled across your blog today via your comment on Heather Eats Almond Peanut Butter. I am going to begin training for Tobacco Road this week also! I did Hal Higdon’s novice plan for City of Oaks and didn’t have any trouble with not tapering, so I wouldn’t worry about it. Can’t wait to see how you do!

    Reply
    • 7. rungirlrunn  |  January 4, 2010 at 8:54 am

      Oh that makes me feel better!! Hope you’re training goes well!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

