Soup, Monsieur!

January 4, 2010 at 7:55 pm 4 comments

One of my resolutions for 2010 was to cook more. So this morning I sat down with a cookbook I got for Christmas and poured over the pages searching for recipes that sparked my interest.

Willams Sonoma The Weeknight Cook

weeknight cook

I marked a bunch that sounded good, and picked out a few that I would use this week for inspiration. (I don’t usually follow recipes exactly, but I do use them as guidelines)

cookbook tags

For this week I picked out:

– Spinach, Pear, and Walnut Salad

– Tomato-Basil Soup

– Spicy Corn Cakes with Black Beans

– Baked Chicken Parmesan

– Baked Croque Monsieurs

and

– Caramelized Bananas with Coconut  (mmm!!)

After examining the depths of my pantry, fridge, and freezer, I made a grocery list and headed to the store.

grocery list

I swung by the library on the way and picked up a bunch of books I’d reserved- 6 came all at once! Yikes I’ve got reading to do. Check out all the good reading I have:

DSCN0220 DSCN0209 DSCN0219

Now the only question is which one to read first!

Anyway, tonight I decided to start with Croque Monsieurs since we have so much bread (hmm kinda similar to what I had for lunch…oh well!) and tomato basil soup.

Random fact: I HATE and despise tomatoes. But for some strange reason I love tomato basil soup.

croque monsieurs tomato soup

Thus the cooking began.

DSCN0235 DSCN0237 DSCN0241 DSCN0242

DSCN0245

I really should have listened to the advice of cooking with a wine you’d want to drink. I thought I did, but then I poured a glass to go with dinner…ew.

I ended up adding some cornstarch and splenda to thicken the soup and counteract some of the acidity of the tomatoes.

The husband thought the soup was great. I thought not so much. Too tomato-y for me. Maybe if I cooked it longer….

DSCN0239 DSCN0240 DSCN0246 DSCN0247

The croque monsieurs were pretty darn good, although a little too bready for me. I could’ve been satisfied making this with one slice of bread instead of a two-slice sandwich. The taste was pretty good though, and it got a “keeper” status from the husband (which says a lot). (By the way, I made them using turkey and Gouda cheese) Croque monsieurs are pretty much just glorified grilled cheese.

DSCN0248

I don’t really see myself making the soup again, but the sandwiches maybe so.

Entry filed under: Dinner. Tags: , , , .

Double Shredded Back to Basics

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa  |  January 5, 2010 at 2:24 am

    What a yummy looking dinner 🙂 I love ooey goey cheesy sandwiches 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. shelly  |  January 5, 2010 at 11:47 am

    that all looks awesome to me!!

    Reply
  • 3. Lauren @ Reading and Running  |  January 5, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    My reserved books always come in at the same time too! Guernsey Literary is really good! It is a different format but once you get a few pages into you’ll fall in love with the characters! And In Defense of Food is one of my favorite foodie books ever! Definitely eye opening and informative!

    Reply
    • 4. rungirlrunn  |  January 6, 2010 at 8:10 am

      I can’t wait to get to those! I just started with Friend of the Family

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

