Right on Track

January 5, 2010 at 2:24 pm 1 comment

My stomach was growling before the clock rolled over to 11:00 this AM. Instead of fighting it, I decided today would be a two-mini-lunch-day.

Lunch numero uno was last night’s tomato basil soup along with some cheesy toast.tomato soup and cheese bread

This time around I added a dollop of Greek yogurt to make it a little creamy, some garlic (cuz you can never have enough), and red chili pepper flakes. I loved the addition of the heat from the peppers, mmmmm! The soup was still a little acidic for me, but I could definitely taste the potential 🙂 tomato soup cheese breadcheese toast

The cheese toast is just a slice of Double Fiber whole wheat bread with a little garlic and finely grated Gouda. Using full flavored cheeses and finely shredding them is a great way to get a flavor impact without a ton of extra calories. tomato soup and breadPerfect for soup-scooping 🙂

After digesting I headed out for my 3 miles.

There’s a middle school behind my house that has a track, so I decided to head there for today’s workout.

scoreboard track track

Asphalt track. Blech. I only wish it was that awesome chopped up rubber tire track- that would be a dream to my injury-prone body.

I guess you can’t really call it a tempo run technically, but I alternated paces every 400 yards. 400 yds nice and easy, 400 yds picking up the pace, repeat, repeat, repeat until I reached 3 miles. I think I reached 3 miles. I can’t count very well. 12 is a pretty high number for me. I should have brought a piece of chalk to keep track haha.

(My warm-up and cool down were the jog to and from the track)

Now I’m icing my knees and feet while I enjoy lunch number two.

DSCN0204peas peasDSCN0203

Pretty much the same as yesterday- bread, Laughing Cow, turkey, Gouda, sage. And baby sweet peas.

i have to say I am very very grateful to whatever has been keeping my pain at a manageable level this week. It’s allowed me to truly remember how much I LOVE running!! I am grateful for each and every step I’m able to take 🙂

What are you grateful for today?!

Entry filed under: Training. Tags: , , , .

Back to Basics Nuts and Naners

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. shelly  |  January 6, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    At least it’s my lunch time so I can go eat now that I’m hungry again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

