Cheesy Mishaps

January 6, 2010 at 8:00 pm 5 comments

Man oh man am I on a roll with this cooking thing.

Wait, I’m getting ahead of myself. First things first, I snacked on these at work:

gnu bar

A Gnu Bar. (I love these, although this isn’t my favoritest flavor)

pb bread

And PB on whole wheat bread.

 

Now back to the rolling with the cooking thing.

tomato basil sauce recipechicken parmesan recipe

(These are still from Williams-Sonoma The Weeknight Cook- although I do promise I have other cookbooks)

On the menu tonight: Baked Chicken Parmesan. Ok ok ok, I know I don’t need a recipe for that. But sometimes it’s hard just to come up with an idea out of thin air. When I saw this page it jogged my memory- I LOVE chicken parm! This recipe suggests serving it over a bed of kale, which of course I love, so that’s what’s for dinner!

I almost always make my own tomato sauce from scratch, no matter what I’m using it for. It’s so easy and usually tastes better than the jarred stuff. Less sugar too! I never make my sauce the same though, just use whatever I’ve got. Usually diced tomatoes plus veggies like onions and peppers.

Tonight I had a can of whole peeled tomatoes and some tomato paste, so I blended them together in the food processor. After adding a little water and some yummy Italian spices- fennel seed, Italian blend, garlic and onion powder- I put it on the stove to simmer and get rid of that yucky tomato-y taste.

(Note to self: buy stewed tomatoes from now on. Whole tomatoes still taste like tomatoes. eww.)

sauce

I tried a new kind of basil this week.

frozen basil

It’s frozen chopped basil. It was way cheaper than the fresh stuff. I keep saying I’m going to grow my own but I forget and I’m chicken. Not sure how much it’ll taste like the fresh stuff though.

Then I diced up some garlic and onion, sautéed them, and threw them in the sauce.

Wilted the kale, browned the chicken, and layered ‘em up in a baking dished. Topped with mozz and parm and in the oven it went. Easy peasy.

 kale kale chicken parm chicken parm

Look at that double cheesy goodness. Part skim mozzarella and grated parmesan.

It didn’t seem like it was going to be enough, so I whipped up some garlic toast.

Whole wheat bread, butta (Ok Smart Balance Spread), and garlic rubbed on top.

(Side note: When my husband and I first got married it was his job to make the garlic bread (back when he still helped;)). Then I found out how he made garlic bread- bread, butter, and garlic salt. yup SALT. It actually wasn’t horrible, but I don’t really care for my bread salted. He’s off garlic bread duty now)

I really shouldn’t even post the picture of the final product….someone wasn’t paying attention (cough cough ME!) and burnt the cheese. It still tasted awesome.

DSCN0321

I’ll do you the favor of not enlarging that one.

 

Now I’m off to bury my head in this:

research research

Pre-reading for a conference I’m going to next week. And that’s only about a 3rd of it…boy oh boy….

Entry filed under: Dinner. Tags: , , , , .

Power of Pilates To Track or Not

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Danielle  |  January 6, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    Haha my family makes garlic bread using the salt too (NOT my fav…). And I need to find that frozen basil! I’m sure it would work better than dried

    Reply
  • 2. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down)  |  January 6, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    Nothing wrong with that! I actually prefer my cheese “overdone.” I used to eat everything until it was darkened—eggs, marshmallows, cheese, you name it! Dinner still looks and sounds amazing. 😀

    Reply
  • 3. monicaonthego.com  |  January 6, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    Just found your blog, its great. I love pilates too, took a great class today and those GNU bars are yummy.

    *Check out the 2 amazing giveaways going on @ monicaonthego.com right now, etsy headband and Nature’s Gate lotion set*

    Reply
  • 4. Whitney @ Lettuce Love  |  January 7, 2010 at 8:51 am

    Great recipe! I should try frozen basil — I can’t find it fresh in the winter 😦

    Reply
  • 5. Anna  |  January 7, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    I love Williams Sonoma cookbooks! I have a few of them myself 🙂

    This looks delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

