Nuts and Naners

January 6, 2010 at 8:25 am 9 comments

Convo between the husband and I when he saw me in my running clothes:

Him: Where’d you go running?

Me: The middle school track.

Him: You mean they didn’t kick you out?

Me: Huh? Why would they do that?

Him: It’s illegal to be on school property when school’s in session.

 

What?! Is that true? I surely didn’t intend on trespassing! I figured it’d be ok since no school administrator in their right mind would send the kids outside in this freezing cold weather! Plus, I didn’t see any signs saying I couldn’t. The only sign I saw was one that said Sex Offenders weren’t allowed. Seriously. I almost took a picture. (Just for the record, I’m not a sex offender). I always saw people running on the track when I was in high school…am I wrong here?

 

So besides that little snafu the rest of my day has been fairly uneventful, except for my husband eating one of the bananas I specifically had reserved for tonight’s mission-to-cook-more dinner. Oh well, less dessert for him!

On the menu in the Side of Sneakers kitchen tonight:

Spinach, Pear, and Walnut Salad

 DSCN0181 salad

and

Caramelized Bananas with Coconut

DSCN0192

I started off with a glass of Chardonnay for the cook.

chardonnay

The salad was super easy to throw together, yet tasted like I’d worked on it for hours.

dressing salad salad salad

I was a little wary of the dressing, but it complemented the salad very well. The recipe calls for a base of mayo and sour cream, which didn’t sound entirely appetizing to me. I subbed out some of each for some Greek yogurt. I would’ve swapped entirely but I wanted to see what flavors the recipe was going for. I wanted a little more protein too so tossed in a can of pink salmon—it ended up fitting in with the other flavors SO well.

I will definitely be making this again!

 

I only had one banana left so there wasn’t too much in the way of dessert, but it was simple to tackle and tasted great.

bananas

 

 

I’m very excited for the premiere of Season 9 of The Biggest Loser!! (Well, I won’t actually watch it tonight—I’m a DVR queen—I love to fast forward through boring parts of shows)

(I love Ali—I met her a couple months ago!)

I’ll leave you with a few of my favorite Biggest Loser quotes:

“Don’t lose sight of what you want!”

"This is where it matters the most. This is where lives are made, in these moments when you can choose whether or not to say ‘I can’t’ or ‘I can’. It is a choice that will either make or break you for life."

“I know it’s hard and I know it hurts. But you can do it.”

 

Who would you pick to train with given the choice, Bob or Jillian?

Entry filed under: Dinner. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Right on Track Leftovers Take 20,000

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Britt  |  January 6, 2010 at 9:33 am

    That salad looks awesome and what a great idea to put the salmon in. I may have to try it. Yum!

    How cool that you met Ali! I’d definitely want to train with Jillian. I work really well with trainers like her, I would love to have her push me beyond what I think I am capable of!

    Reply
  • 2. caitsplate  |  January 6, 2010 at 10:05 am

    What!? Is that illegal!?!? I’ve never heard of that before!

    And I love Ali too! She’s so darn cute. HOW DID YOU MEET HER!?!?

    It would be hard to pick Jillian or Bob for me, I feel like they both offer something good. Can I say both!?

    Reply
    • 3. rungirlrunn  |  January 6, 2010 at 12:30 pm

      She was waiting to go to dinner with Ed and Heba near my house after a book signing, and they were just hanging out chatting! I would pick both trainers too 🙂 Bob for the mental aspect and whole-body awareness part, and Jillian to push you farther than you think you could ever go!

      Reply
  • 4. onelittlejill  |  January 6, 2010 at 10:54 am

    I am in the process of writing a whole post about BL. It is sure to be controversial as I do not agree with everything they do on the show.

    Reply
    • 5. rungirlrunn  |  January 6, 2010 at 12:31 pm

      I can’t wait to read your post! I have a lot of issues with the show. I just like seeing the contestants realize what they’re capable of, especially towards the end of the season. I’m curious to see if our opinions overlap 🙂

      Reply
  • 6. Abby Flabs  |  January 6, 2010 at 11:44 am

    That salad looks amazing and I love the little binder you’ve got. And I can’t wait for Biggest Loser too. I love that show!

    Reply
  • 7. parismtnstriding  |  January 6, 2010 at 11:54 am

    I love Jillian! She can really seem evil but always seems to connect with the contestants on such a deep level. Where did you get that salad recipe? Your tweak sounds tasty.

    Reply
    • 8. rungirlrunn  |  January 6, 2010 at 12:32 pm

      The recipe’s from Williams-Sonoma Weeknight Cook!

      Reply
  • 9. shelly  |  January 7, 2010 at 11:16 am

    The school property thing, I’m going to check into that!

    I make those bananas too. Yum!

    I would want Jillian to scream and yell at me…and I’d ask for more! That’s my idea of what heaven might be like…okay slight over statement.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

