Power of Pilates

January 6, 2010 at 5:15 pm 2 comments

I love Pilates. Much easier for my go-go-go brain to handle than yoga where I’m supposed to relax. I used to make it to my gym’s Pilates class a couple times a week, but recently the classes have been conflicting with my work schedule, so no Pilates for me.

No Pilates classes? I’ve been to enough to know the basic gist. I figured I’d have my own class in my room 🙂

A little background. Pilates is a method of exercise that combines stretching and strengthening moves, created by Joseph H. Pilates. It’s supposed to help increasing flexibility, improve balance, strengthen muscles, and connect body and mind. Many people associate Pilates with a crazy looking spring-loaded contraption (the Pilates reformer), but there is also a matwork series that goes along with the method, that requires nothing but your body and the floor.

There’s a lot more to it than that, but I figure that’s enough for now. I did some of my favorite Pilates exercises:

The Hundred

The Roll-Up

Single Leg Circles

Double Leg Stretch

Corkscrew

The Saw

I skipped a couple I like, like Rolling Like a Ball and Open Leg Rocker, due to a still-sensitive coccyx. (Gotta love the names of the moves)

Just to round it out a bit, I did some pushups, planks, and triceps lifts.

Take that Pilates gym class.

My core really does feel stronger when I’m consistent with my Pilates classes, so doing it at home may be my new alternative in the mean time 🙂

On a running note….

I just signed on with Tall Mom’s 1000+++ Mile Club. When I first read about it I thought it sounded awesome…for someone else.  But then I read this little snippet:

“A little intimidated??
Break it down in simple Math
1,000/12 months in a year= 83.33 Miles per month
1,000/52 weeks in a year= 19.23 Miles per week
1,000/365 days in a year= 2.74 Miles per day”

Hmm….. (it’s never good when I start thinking)

Still not convinced, I looked at my training schedule. There it was:

Week of March 1, 2010: 19 miles

I could do it. I may be a little behind, but there’s a whole 9 months after March to make it up 🙂

“Aspire to Inspire”…gotta love that 🙂

Entry filed under: Cross training. Tags: , , , .

Leftovers Take 20,000 Cheesy Mishaps

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nibbyboi  |  January 6, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    i need the gyn right about now or some sort of execise

    Reply
  • […] Many grouping assort Pilates with a disturbed hunting spring-loaded gadget (the Pilates reformer), but there is also a matwork program that goes along with the method, that requires null but your embody and the floor. … View example place here:  Power of Pilates « with a Side of Sneakers […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

