Better with Age

January 7, 2010 at 8:13 pm 6 comments

I knew the husband wouldn’t be home for dinner tonight, so I made an extra piece of chicken when making last night’s chicken parm.

Know how they say Italian food is always better the next day? NO JOKE! This was 200% better tonight than last night. I hope I remember that next time I make this dish…and make it day early!

chicken parm

I had it with some green beans & almonds.

green beans chicken parm

Then I made some cinnamon coffee cake. I wish I could tell you this was an awesome homemade healthy recipe, but it was really the leftover Cinnabon mix from Christmas. I had to get rid of the box, it was taking precious pantry space 😉

DSCN0323

I made the mix with Pomegranate applesauce, which made it super moist and gave it just a hint of tropical flavor. It was a nice twist actually.

coffee cake 

Of course I had to have a piece. The middle slice of anything always has my name on it.

cinnamon roll 

Nothing goes better than warm gooey coffee cake than a glass of cold milk.

 milk

This picture makes it look like I had a GIANT piece of cake, but I promise it’s on a salad plate and my glass is like 3 inches tall.

DSCN0337

Mmm.

I’m having a pretty relaxing night. I’m already feeling this afternoon’s run in my feet, so I’m taking it easy and doing lots of icing. Hopefully I can make it disappear overnight 😉

I just finished this:

DSCN0211

I read a review A Friend of the Family in my Aunt’s people magazine over Christmas and added to my must-read list. I was actually pretty disappointed, especially because I’ve heard such good things about it. The first 200 pages didn’t really do a whole lot for me. The last 20 were riveting though. I feel like the author could have started the story there and expanded and it would have been a much more exciting read.

Now I’m off to pick another book from my stack….

DSCN0220

Entry filed under: Dessert, Dinner. Tags: , , , .

No Smoking, Guns, or Sex Offenders Please Creamy Oats Coming Right Up!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Danielle  |  January 7, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    I always think food tastes MUCH better once it’s had time to “absorb flavors” in the fridge. The coffee cake looks delicious!

    Reply
  • 2. Heather @ The Joyful Kitchen  |  January 7, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    i TOTALLY thing italian is better the next day too! looks wonderful, and holy YUM to the coffee cake 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Whitney @ Lettuce Love  |  January 7, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    I love Italian food the day after it is prepared. It is much yummier. That cake looks great 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Lauren @ Reading and Running  |  January 7, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    Ahhh I’m always a middle slice kinda girl too! I always get in trouble for taking the middle cinnamon roll/coffee cake piece!

    Go for Guernsey Literary next!

    Reply
    • 5. Heather  |  January 9, 2010 at 1:26 pm

      I just started Julie and Julia, but I’ll read Guernsey next!!

      Reply
  • 6. Gelareh @ Orange Truffle  |  January 7, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    The green beans look good. I can almost smell the cinnabon coffee cake.. yum!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

