Attack of the Hungries

January 8, 2010 at 5:07 pm 8 comments

Today’s a scheduled cross-training day, and I have to say I’m really glad. My feet are definitely feeling the beating I’ve given them over the past week. I decided to go swimming during my lunch break.

It’s been a loooong time since I hit the pool. I didn’t have a specific workout in mind- just hopped in and swam. Sometimes that’s the best kind of workout anyways.

I warmed up with some breaststroke, did some freestyle for awhile, then ended on some breaststroke. I didn’t swim for long…maybe 20 minutes? It was a good swim though. I love how the water makes you feel fluid and graceful even if you’re a klutz like me.

For lunch I had a chicken quesadilla and some baby sweet peas.

 lunch quesadillapeas

My quesadilla was just a wrap with chicken, onions, salsa, corn, and mixed shredded cheese.

I ended up staying at work later than I thought and was starving! Luckily I have an emergency stash in the car and dug out this baby:

I didn’t attack the hunger monster soon enough so I was still hungry when I got home.

triscuits

I was too hungry to make a proper plate—I just dug right in.

cheese and crackers 

Triscuits and mozzarella cheese.

 

This is why you eat before you’re starving. Thank goodness for emergency stashes.

Entry filed under: Lunch, Training. Tags: , , , , .

Creamy Oats Coming Right Up! Running for Me

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. julieglissman  |  January 8, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    I keep a ‘stash’ in the car too. If I don’t, I’ll have some sort of sugar/food attack and stop at Taco Bell for a quick taco 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Kristine  |  January 8, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    That quesadilla looks so good! I was at the gym today, and saw a bunch of girls in their bathing suits because they were swimming (duhh, haha) and it made me want to try it out! I am a horrible swimmer, but it is definitely a nice change from running!!

    Reply
    • 3. Heather  |  January 8, 2010 at 9:07 pm

      Give it a try!! 🙂

      Reply
  • 4. Whitney @ Lettuce Love  |  January 8, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    I always keep a stash of sunflower seeds and almonds in my purse because I am constantly hungry. Good idea to keep stuff in your car, that would lighten my purse a little 🙂

    Reply
    • 5. Heather  |  January 8, 2010 at 9:07 pm

      Haha I have almonds in my purse too 🙂

      Reply
  • 6. Madelin  |  January 8, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    Oh wow I love Tricuits! My sister and I became addicted to them when we were in America :).

    Reply
  • 7. Anne @ the doctor takes a wife  |  January 8, 2010 at 9:01 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!!

    Triscuits and cheese are hubby and my FAVORITE snacks 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Shelly  |  January 9, 2010 at 10:54 am

    Nice that you got to swim!

    Yummy lunch! I keep snacks everywhere. My coworkers think I eat all the time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

