Creamy Oats Coming Right Up!

January 8, 2010 at 8:39 am 11 comments

Since some of you asked how I get my oats so creamy I thought I’d share!

(Disclaimer: they don’t always turn out creamy. It’s seriously a mystery every morning how they’re going to turn out.)

They do tend to be a bit creamier if I make them on the stove because I can add more liquid as I see fit.

I start with 1/2 cup of Old Fashioned Oats (I think these are just a tiny bit heftier than the Quick Oats, and they only take an extra minute in the microwave)

I let the oats toast in the pot on medium for about 30 seconds, then add 1/2 cup almond milk and 1/2 cup water. As the oats cook, I add more liquid if they seem to be drying/thickening up too much.

stove oats

I usually add tons of cinnamon, some nutmeg, and sometimes vanilla.

Then I add whatever fruit or veggie base I’m going for (my 2 favorites are banana and pumpkin).

If I’m doing banana I cut it in super super thin slices and beat them into the oatmeal until the chunks disappear.

  stove oatmeal

Continue stirring frequently until the oats reach the consistency you want. If you’ve add too much liquid, just keep cooking them until the liquid is absorbed.

Voila! Creamy oats 🙂

oatmeal

I usually add walnuts or pecans at the last minute, and unsweetened coconut if I have it on hand. Then the crowning glory, a huge scoop of PB smack dab into the middle. I used to stir it in to the whole mix, but I love how it melts off the spoon and you can really taste the PB in each bite this way.

I usually add cottage cheese to my oats too (not today though- I’m out!) The trick to making those taste the best is heating the oats up a bit after adding the cottage cheese so it blends better. (If I’m microwaving I just pop it in for another 30 seconds).

 

What’s your favorite thing to put in oatmeal?

Entry filed under: Breakfast. Tags: , , , , .

Better with Age Attack of the Hungries

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Whitney @ Lettuce Love  |  January 8, 2010 at 9:31 am

    I am all about raisins! The more the better 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Danielle  |  January 8, 2010 at 9:46 am

    I love putting raisin in oatmeal too. And you can’t go wrong with pumpkin!

    Reply
  • 3. theprocessofhealing  |  January 8, 2010 at 10:13 am

    Yum… I love oats and I make them the exact same way (except for the toasting, must try that though..). My favorite things to mix in/ top are pure maple syrup, almond butter (especially love Barney Butter), peanut butter, crumbled Glo Bars, pumpkin, pumpkin butter, greek yogurt, strawberries.. just to name a few.

    Reply
  • 4. Tricia  |  January 8, 2010 at 10:57 am

    Yum, it looks great!

    Reply
  • 5. Ameena  |  January 8, 2010 at 11:31 am

    The only thing I put in is Vanilla Almond Breeze and flax. I am not as creative as the rest of you bloggers!! 🙂 Yours looks super creamy and delicious though.

    Reply
    • 6. Heather  |  January 8, 2010 at 9:06 pm

      Almond Breeze and flax is good enough for me! Yum!

      Reply
  • 7. Anne Marie@New Weigh of Life  |  January 8, 2010 at 11:32 am

    My favorite thing to put in oatmeal is mashed bananas. It’s awesome!

    Reply
  • 8. caitsplate  |  January 8, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    Why is it that a peanut butter spoon makes oats so much better? It completely makes it!

    Reply
  • 9. angnxd  |  January 8, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    My favorite thing to put in oatmeal is the Barney Butter! Yummm…

    Reply
  • 10. stephchows  |  January 8, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    mmm your oats look delicious to me!!

    Reply
  • 11. Caitlin@TheTwentyFifthYear  |  January 10, 2010 at 9:20 am

    I always have SO much trouble getting my oats to turn out just right. I am going to try this liquid combination this week. AWESOME.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

