Running for Me

January 8, 2010 at 9:03 pm 11 comments

So I’ve been hearing about self serve frozen yogurt places all over blog world, and I’m very very jealous. I want to try it! When I first moved here I told my husband this place was no good because they don’t have an ice cream stand. (The town I grew up in had the best soft serve stand with a line to the street every night—it was even my first job).

On the way home today I saw a sign about the Juice n Java that just closed. I was barely able to read it before I drove past, but I’m 99.9% sure it said

Coming Soon: Frozen Yogurt Bar!!!

AHHHH!!!

I would be SO excited!

But anyways. I was planning on making Corn Cakes with Black Beans, but I forgot to soak the black beans!! (I’ve never made dried beans before). Instead I made tortellini!

Usually when I make pasta I load it up with veggies—but I was OUT!!! ahh! I had a little bit of onion and garlic though, so I mixed that in with some sauce leftover from the chicken parm.

   tortellini onionstortellini

I enjoyed a Flying Dog brew while I cooked. I mean, it is Friday. I like this one, especially for a lager, but not as much as the Hefeweizen. Loved that one.

 DSCN0352DSCN0351

 

 

 

I’ve been thinking a lot tonight. (Uh oh, that’s never good!)

As frustrating as only being able to run three days a week is, I think it really is the perfect plan for me.  Let’s look at this week. My feet felt fine (my version of fine anyway!) after Sunday’s run. Tuesday also went well. I could tell I’d run after though. Thursday I was definitely feeling it. Lots of icing the rest of the day. But now I have two days off from running, so I’m hoping they’ll feel good for Sunday’s run, just like last week.

Logically, this is the best plan for me. I can either run smart, or not at all. (I choose smart).

Logic isn’t always the first thing that comes to mind when you react to something though. Yesterday I was reading some comments that had been shared by my friends I’m training for the half marathon “with” (we live 512 miles apart).

They were discussing how they were doing with their training. They’re kicking my @ss. The number they punch into the treadmill is unfathomable to me. The number of miles they run is even more blasphemous.  (One of these girls decided to run a half marathon not even a month ago, and went on a run for the first time ever.)

At first I thought, why can they do this and I can’t? I need to be running 8 miles. I need to be faster.

Actually, no I don’t. I just told you I was happy with my plan and with my running, and I wasn’t lying. I am. I’m also very happy for them and their running. We may be doing this together, but we’re also doing it ourselves. We will “train” together, support each other, motivate, and encourage each other. But we can’t run for each other.

I’m running for myself, with my friends.

And I’m so proud of all of us. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On an entirely different note, I feel like bad news comes in groups. This has been one of those weeks where I’ve had friends experience bad news after bad news. I don’t think it’s my place to share specifics, but my heart breaks for each and everyone of them, and I hope they find the strength to get through it. I know they have the strength. I’m sending love and support vibes their way with everything I have. I’m constantly reminded by how amazing people are and the things they’re able to get through. Now that’s something to think about!

 

 

I don’t mean to be Debbie Downer, I just felt I needed to share that instead of just keeping it in my head.

To make up for it, here’s some giveaway love:

Win some Kettleworx from Erica!

Entry filed under: Dinner, Training. Tags: , , , .

Attack of the Hungries Jar O’Oats

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theprocessofhealing  |  January 8, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    First, I would KILL for a frozen yogurt place around where I live. We used to have a TCBY but it closed years ago. So i’m crossing my fingers that we get one one day…

    But anyways, this post was exactly what I needed to hear at this time. With the running/racing/blog community, it’s so easy to compare yourself to others and say “i’m not running long enough, fast enough, etc.” We need to remember that we are all unique, no one is the same. We do the best we can and give it all we can give and that is that. I can’t run at all right now because of an injury but I know that when i can run again, I will never take another run for granted, no matter how slow it is or how it compares to others. We need to listen to our bodies and do what’s best for ourselves.

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  January 9, 2010 at 8:41 am

      You’re right, we’re all unique, and that includes our running too! I hope you recovery quickly and fully so you can run again soon! Hang in there 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. lecarter  |  January 8, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    This was a fun blog to stumble across! I started training for my first marathon in Novemeber…never a runner in my life (I was a competitive swimmer: aka better in the water than on land). I decided to try something new in my new city and joined Team in Training.

    I too am trying to train injury free and listen to my body. The best advice I got was to just run at the pace it felt comfortable at! I am off for a 110 minute run in the morning. Longest training run yet. It is nice to know that there are other people out there running, learning to run, and having fun doing it.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    • 4. Heather  |  January 9, 2010 at 8:42 am

      Thanks for stopping by! That is good advice. I think I run “better” when I don’t know how fast or far I’m running. That’s great that you joined Team in Training and are getting ready for you 1st half! Good luck on your long run!

      Reply
  • 5. Lauren @ Reading and Running  |  January 8, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    Yes I’ve never had one of those yogurt places either! I’d love to try one.

    I’m dealing with injury right now and even with running just 3 days a week I’m still hurt. This is beyond frustrating. I’m giving myself til Tuesday. Then I’ve got a deadline to meet!

    Reply
    • 6. Heather  |  January 9, 2010 at 8:43 am

      Injuries stink! I hope you heal up quickly–take care of yourself!!

      Reply
  • 7. ohhmay  |  January 8, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    I hope things start looking up for you and your friend. Your running plan seems great, so keep your head up!
    The tortellini looks absolutely delicious… and frozen yogurt is always exciting!!

    Reply
  • 8. Danielle  |  January 8, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    It’s soooo much better to run smart. You know what’s best for your body and what it can and can’t handle. You can still rock the half marathon even if you’re not training as much as other people.

    Reply
  • 9. katajess  |  January 9, 2010 at 7:43 am

    Love your tortellini! Pasta is so addictive.

    I agree with the other commenters, running the amount that is right for your body is much more worthwhile. Injuries aren’t fun and I’m sure you’ll do great at the half marathon because your body will be happy. 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down)  |  January 9, 2010 at 8:02 am

    This is just my thought process, but in my opinion, if a person is running for fun and fitness, 3 days a week can be the perfect plan! 😀 Your legs will be nice and fresh for when you *do* run, and you can still fit in some good training with these days. 😀

    I hope you get the frozen yogurt bar! That would be sweet (literally! 😀 )

    Reply
  • 11. Shelly  |  January 9, 2010 at 11:05 am

    If your not enjoying your running, why do it? The chances of us being an professional runner are slim so most of us are running for fitness, fun, friendship or the challenge. So why do we beat ourselves up comparing with other runners.

    I like your thoughts. Run for yourself. Against yourself. With who ever wants to join your pace and encourage you along the way!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

