Sweet Taters

January 9, 2010 at 8:14 pm 15 comments

Tonight I’m meeting two girlfriends from college for a glass of wine (or two) at Rioja! a wine bar right outside of downtown.  I had to run home after work to change, so I grabbed some dinner while I was there. I’m sure they serve food there, but I decided to eat beforehand anyway because

1. It’s healthier

2. It’s cheaper

3. I don’t like waiting that long to eat!

This way I can have a light dinner now, and if I’m hungry later I can have a snack! I think they serve “tapas”, so it’d be the perfect size for a bite later.

I snacked on some Triscuits while I got dressed.

DSCN0369

I tried to use my new mandolin to make sweet potato fries.

  DSCN0370

Didn’t so much work.

DSCN0371 

Guess the sweet potato was just too tough for it. Which is annoying because I wanted the mandolin to make it easier to cut sweet potatoes!

DSCN0373

Oh well, my knife worked out just fine. Just need a lil’ elbow grease.

DSCN0376

Seasoned with onion and garlic powder, chili powder, red pepper, cumin, and cinnamon. Baked for about 30 min at 400 degrees.

DSCN0374

I love pairing sweet potatoes and black beans so I served my fries with a Morningstar Farms Spicy Black Bean Burger. I mixed some ketchup and Jamaican jerk sauce for dipping.

DSCN0377 

Now I’m off to see what this wine bar’s all about.

Enjoy your Saturday night 🙂

Entry filed under: Dinner. Tags: , , , .

Please Excuse my Quirkiness Rioja!

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anna  |  January 9, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    Mmmm…looks like a good burger and fries! Are those rosemary and olive oil triscuits?!? I LOVE them!! 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  January 10, 2010 at 9:48 am

      They’re the Quattro Fromaggio–SO good. I’ve gotta try the rosemary ones next!

      Reply
  • 3. Shelly  |  January 9, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    That looks awesome! I am going to make those sweet potato fries!

    Reply
  • 4. Danielle  |  January 9, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    Sorry the mandolin didn’t work out! I ❤ sweet p. fries but they are a pain to cut…
    Have fun tonight 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Kristen @ Change of Pace  |  January 9, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    I have been buying the Alexia sweet potato fries at the grocery store. They are SO good, natural, and really aren’t too bad for you! They are just crispier than when I make them myself. I’d eat sweet potatoes anyway though 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Jessica @ The Process of Healing  |  January 9, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    Sweet potato fries are absolutely amazing… so delicious and so good for you! And I also eat before going out for something like that. Then you aren’t tempted by all of the high calorie stuff.. well that’s the theory anyway ha

    Reply
  • 7. chrysta  |  January 9, 2010 at 10:38 pm

    Great looking sweet potatoes! I hope you have a fun time tonight. The wine bar sounds fantastic!

    Reply
  • 8. Joanna Sutter  |  January 10, 2010 at 6:34 am

    I was just thinking I wanted one of those crazy vegetable slicers especially for my sweet potato fries. Mmmmm…maybe not! 😉

    Reply
  • 9. julieglissman  |  January 10, 2010 at 7:54 am

    Wine bars are the best, especially with a few girlfriends 🙂 And the sweet potatoes look wonderful. Hope you had a fun evening!

    Reply
  • 10. diana  |  January 10, 2010 at 7:59 am

    The sweet potato fries look really good! Saw you are running the Tobacco Trail half, I’m doing the full! Good luck with training.

    Reply
    • 11. Heather  |  January 10, 2010 at 9:50 am

      How cool!!! I’m looking forward to it 🙂 Hope your training goes well too!

      Reply
  • 12. lindsayruns  |  January 10, 2010 at 9:00 am

    Sharpening your knife, right? No mandolin required with the right knife!

    Reply
    • 13. Heather  |  January 10, 2010 at 9:49 am

      It’s sharp! And gets the job done 🙂 I just thought the mandolin would be more fun haha

      Reply
  • 14. Jocelyn  |  January 10, 2010 at 11:46 am

    mmm love me some sweet taters! Looks like a yummy meal!

    Reply
  • 15. Sara  |  January 10, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    I love the site! I just made some sweet potato fries tonight with an official “french fry” cutter. I’ll have to find out where it came from, it definitely beats using a knife, those taters can be hard! I’ve never thought to put cinnamon on the fries, genius.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

