Date Night

January 10, 2010 at 7:31 pm 17 comments

The husband and I are going to Carrabba’s Italian Grill tonight for dinner. We aren’t going to see each other for a week due to overlapping conferences and I got a giftcard for Christmas, so I thought it’d be the perfect time to use it!

I love checking out a restaurant’s menu online before I go. I’m SO indecisive that it helps me get a head start on my decision and keeps me from holding other people up. It’s also good to read the menu before you’re starving so you can make a good, healthy decision. Sometimes it’s helpful to look at the nutrition info too. I don’t really go to nice restaurants a lot, so I usually get whatever it is that I want, even if it’s not the healthiest choice on the menu. If I get to the point where I’m eating out a lot, then I tend to stick with lighter options.

I ordered my favorite entree at Carrabba’s- the Chicken Bryan- a grilled chicken breast with goat cheese, sundried tomatoes, and a basil lemon butter sauce. Say the words “goat cheese” and I’m hooked.

zzz

I’m amazed at how much food comes with an order- the entree, a side, soup or salad, bread…jeez! I had 2 slices of bread dipped in the spiced olive oil, a cup of spicy chicken soup, and asparagus as my side. I opted for a “small” sized entree. I thought it was pretty cool they give you an option of ordering a smaller sized entree—until I realized I had no leftovers to bring home!! I love leftovers!!

Even though I really like their house red wine, I decided to forgo the wine for dessert.

That ended up being a good decision…we split a Limoncello Bread Pudding topped with vanilla bean ice cream. mmmm!

House Number 0065427F4

I feel kinda like a kid again tonight—tomorrow’s my first day of school! I hope I’ll be able to sleep! hahaa. I started graduate school at one school a year ago, and every semester I ran into the same problem- they weren’t offering the classes I needed.  It was getting to the point where it was ridiculous and I wasn’t getting anywhere. I made the decision to take a risk and apply to a different school, even though it was a reach (and a lot more expensive ah!). I found out a few weeks ago that I was accepted and now I’m all signed up for classes and ready to start tomorrow!!

Looking back at the week in training:

I ran 10 miles!! (3, 3, and 4!!)

Entry filed under: Dinner, School. Tags: , , , , , .

Park Run Brain Fog

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down)  |  January 10, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    Good for you for signing up for the classes! 😀 Don’t you love it when taking chances is handsomely rewarded?? Best of luck on your first day!

    Oh, and congrats on the 10 miles too! That’s awesome! 😀

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  January 11, 2010 at 8:56 am

      Yes I do!! and thanks!

      Reply
  • 3. monicaonthego.com  |  January 10, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    Bread pudding and goat cheese, 2 of my favs! Thanks for the book recommendation, I love Jodi Piccoult too and have read quite a few of her books in the past.

    *Check out my Yoga mat cover giveaway @ MonicaOnTheGo.com*

    Reply
  • 4. diana  |  January 10, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    Good luck tomorrow! It is always exciting starting something new. The bread pudding looks delicious. Nice job running too.

    Reply
  • 5. marathonmaiden  |  January 10, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    good luck tmrw! and i’m really indecisive at restaurants too, it really bugs some of my friends haha 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Jessica @ The Process of Healing  |  January 10, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    Good luck tomorrow with your classes! I’m also starting classes tomorrow and it’s also a new change for me. I was about to graduate with an education degree this coming may but I switched my major to business last November (I had known for a while I did not want to teach but I was too afraid to change my major that late in the game) and i’ll be starting my first business courses tomorrow. I’m really nervous but excited!! And how cool is it to take a risk and find that it was SO very worth it!?

    And Carrabbas is probably my favorite restaurant ever. Their bread is to die for!!! Your meal sounds great!

    Reply
    • 7. Heather  |  January 11, 2010 at 8:58 am

      Congrats on having the courage to go for what you really want–it can be so scary, but you’re right- so worth it! I hope you like your first business course!!

      Reply
  • 8. Anna  |  January 10, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    Looks like a great meal! Carrabbas is one of my parents’ favorite restaurants (we don’t have one here in PA 😦 )

    Reply
    • 9. Heather  |  January 11, 2010 at 8:58 am

      No Carrabba’s?! That stinks!

      Reply
  • 10. Danielle  |  January 10, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    Have a good first day of school! (hah I sound like a mom…)
    Congrats on all the miles you’re logging. Keep it up!

    Reply
  • 11. Whole Body Love  |  January 10, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    I still get butterflies before the first day back at school 😉

    Reply
  • 12. Ameena  |  January 10, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    Carrabas looks really good…we don’t have that here in Los Angeles but I think it might be same company as Maggianos? Have a great dinner!

    Reply
  • 13. Mel-2nd Chances  |  January 10, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!!! I love goat cheese too, and sundried tomatoes — sounds amazing!

    Reply
  • 14. greensandjeans  |  January 11, 2010 at 8:22 am

    My boyfriend LOVES Carrabas. He actually glanced over my shoulder as I was reading this and said “oh, is that the bread pudding from Carrabas?” It sure is good though!

    Reply
  • 15. jodie  |  January 11, 2010 at 10:09 am

    Chicken bryan is sooooooooooooooooooo good. My husbnad orders that everytime we go, he likes it so much that if we go to a different Italian restaurant he always asks if they have a dish similar.

    Just found your blog, looking forward to reading more.

    Reply
    • 16. Heather  |  January 11, 2010 at 10:14 am

      I do the same…Bonefish Grill has a really good version!!

      Reply
  • 17. Shelly  |  January 11, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    Carrabba’s is my FAVORITE place to eat!! We tried to take our oldest there before he had to fly out for basic training but we couldn’t get him released in time to make it. (He settled on Red Lobster).

    Your dish is my hubbs fav’!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

