Rioja!

January 10, 2010 at 9:22 am 13 comments

I had a lovely time last night at Rioja! chatting with girlfriends and enjoying a glass (ok, two) of good wine.

The wine bar was a little less “sophisticated” I guess than I thought it would be. I guess the idea that something is called a wine bar makes me think it’s a little classy (stuffy?), but this place was pretty casual. Very small, just a bar and about 5 or 6 patio-type tables. Low lighting did give it a bit of an air of sophistication. It was good though, I felt like I could talk out loud without getting in trouble!

I’m SO glad I decided to eat dinner first, there was no mention of food or any in sight!! I don’t know if they didn’t have any, or you just had to be “in the know” to get your hands on some- it wasn’t on the menu.

I was pleasantly surprised to see there was something besides Chardonnay and Pinot Grigio on the wine list (not that I don’t like those). I tried a Torrontes, which is an Argentinean white wine. I really liked it! They also had an extensive list of pinot noirs, which made me think of Sideways (it’s the main character’s favorite).

 

I didn’t develop an appreciation of wine until fairly recently. I was a beer-drinking-gal allll the way. I don’t think I really even tried much wine until I started visited vineyards.

It all started when my parents came for a visit and we didn’t have anything in particular to do. It was a nice, sunny day, so we opted for a trip to a vineyard.

Childress Vineyards We took a tour of the vineyard and learned all about wine making. I was blown away. I had no idea it was such an art. Thus began my love affair with vineyards. or wine. I’m not sure which…both I guess.

 DSCN1592 DSCN1594

To this day, Childress remains the most beautiful and impressive vineyard I’ve been to. Perhaps I’m biased because it was my first, but I truly believe it was a few notches above the others I’ve been to.

Arrington Vineyards in Tennessee (it’s owned by Kix Brooks from Brooks & Dunn!)

DSCN0945 DSCN0934 DSCN0939 DSCN0944

And a bunch in Charlottesville, VA

DSCN0392 DSCN0393

DSCN0382DSCN0381

So now that I got off on that tangent….

I had oatmeal and coffee for breakfast…surprise!!!

oatmeal

DSCN0953 

I’m doing 4 miles today, but it’s 19 degrees out right now, so I’m waiting a bit for it to warm up—come onnnn sunshine!!

 

GOOD LUCK to everyone running the DISNEY MARATHON this morning!!!! Run your hearts out!

Entry filed under: Breakfast. Tags: , , , , .

Sweet Taters Park Run

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. caitsplate  |  January 10, 2010 at 9:56 am

    That oatmeal looks amazing. And that’s totally me with my coffee + egg white wraps. I can’t get enough!

    Hope you had a great four miles and glad you had a good time with girlfriends 😀

    Reply
  • 2. Danielle  |  January 10, 2010 at 10:07 am

    Glad you had a great night 🙂 I must say…I don’t care for wine. Maybe it will grow on me. The vineyards look gorgeous!

    Reply
  • 3. Becca  |  January 10, 2010 at 10:12 am

    That vineyard looks beautiful!

    Reply
  • 4. marathonmaiden  |  January 10, 2010 at 10:15 am

    it’s 10* or so where i am now. brrr i’m waiting for it to warm up too although i doubt it’ll warm up much!

    Reply
  • 5. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)  |  January 10, 2010 at 10:23 am

    thanks for stopping by my blog! I adored going to vineyards before my daughter was born with my husband, just sampling wines and having a ball. Great post! Also loved the movie Sideways!

    Reply
  • 6. Anna  |  January 10, 2010 at 10:36 am

    Sounds like a fun night! I love trying new wines…and I love Sideways! Every time my husband wants to buy a bottle of merlot at the wine shop, I yell, “I’m not drinking any F&*#ing merlot!!!”

    I think he really likes it. 🙂

    Reply
    • 7. Heather  |  January 10, 2010 at 12:50 pm

      Hahaaa no way, I said that in the store the other day! Some guy overheard me and gave me the weirdest look ever. Clearly he hadn’t seen the movie. 😉

      Reply
  • 8. greensandjeans  |  January 10, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    I’ve only recently started getting into wine. My boyfriend and I are actually checking out a wine tasting later this week

    Reply
  • 9. SHE-FIT  |  January 10, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    19 degrees? I can’t even imagine. I live in az and i think 70 is cold!

    Reply
  • 10. theprocessofhealing  |  January 10, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    I love love love wine but I do not know too much about it, i’d love to learn more. I tend to favor white wines over red wines any day though. Maybe I just haven’t had a good red wine?

    Reply
    • 11. Heather  |  January 11, 2010 at 9:01 am

      I think it’s harder to find a bad white wine than a bad red wine–I didn’t like it that much either until I tasted a good one.

      Reply
  • 12. Shelly  |  January 10, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    My hubbs went on a tour in VA. He loved all the vineyards…maybe it was all the wine drinking that he loved so much?!?!

    Enjoy your refreshing miles!

    Reply
  • 13. Julie @ Pickley Pear  |  January 10, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    I love wine bars! Sounds like you had a nice time 🙂 Definitely a good thing you ate beforehand!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

