Books and Bites

January 11, 2010 at 1:40 pm 20 comments

I was reallllly counting on leftovers from last night’s dinner for lunch today…but I didn’t have any!! 😦

I settled on a three-cheese open-faced sammy instead.

whole wheat bread, Laughing Cow Light Swiss Cheese, turkey, shredded Gouda, basil, black pepper, and some crumbled feta for good measure.

DSCN0430DSCN0431 

Plus some veggies on the side. My freezer’s stuffed with Green Giant frozen veggies, so I grabbed this one to try. The Digestive Health blend with yellow carrots, navy beans, and spinach in a garlic sauce.

This wasn’t my favorite blend (actually the only one I think I don’t like) so I treated the bowl to a double whammy of hot sauce- Texas Pete and Frank’s Red Hot for good measure, plus some Italian seasoning, basil, and black pepper. That pretty much took care of it 🙂

DSCN0427 DSCN0428 

I ended with a handful of these guys:

DSCN0284

Haribo gummy bears straight from Germany!! (They were sent in a Christmas package from an exchange student my family hosted when I was in high school).

 

Anybody else notice today’s date?!

01.11.10

It’s a palindrome! Ok I’m a total dork. I’ve been staring at my calendar too long.

 

Minor hiccup in the whole start of classes thing…apparently one of the classes I’m registered for requires a pre-req that I don’t have, and that class isn’t offered this semester. Why they couldn’t share this info before the 1st day of class I don’t know. Hopefully something else is available!

Anybody know any secret magical cheap textbook buying websites? I’ve been hunting all day. It looks like Amazon and Half.com are my best bets, but I’m scared to click "Checkout” just yet haha.

Entry filed under: Lunch. Tags: , , , , , , .

Brain Fog Mind Dumping

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mollie  |  January 11, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Hi! Thanks for checking out my blog! Your oatmeal looks great!

    In my experience pumpkin+raisins+sugar is amazing, as is apple butter!

    Reply
  • 2. Anne Marie@New Weigh of Life  |  January 11, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    The open faced sandwich looks so good!

    Reply
  • 3. lowandbhold  |  January 11, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    That sammie sounds amazing. Love the blend of cheeses!

    Reply
  • 4. Heather @ (The Single Dish)  |  January 11, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Haribo gummy bears are my all time favorite candy-and straight from Germany, nothing better than that! I also like the twin cherries, frogs and cola bottles. So good!!!

    Reply
  • 5. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  January 11, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    That is a great looking sandwich!
    Hope the issues with the classes work out soon 😦

    Reply
  • 6. Kristen @ Change of Pace  |  January 11, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    I love cheese sandwiches… Well actually I just love cheese 😉 Good creative sandwich!

    Reply
  • 7. marathonmaiden  |  January 11, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    i love that today is a palindrome too and those german gummy bears are the only ones worth eating

    Reply
  • 8. lindsayruns  |  January 11, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    there are lots of palindromes this month, I never notice but I still think they are fun when someone else does!

    Reply
  • 9. Abby (Nibble, Nourish, Run)  |  January 11, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    Mmm gummi bears…or any gummi candy really…my absolute fave!! Sorry about the class confusion…hopefully everything gets worked out!

    Reply
  • 10. eatingmachine  |  January 11, 2010 at 6:48 pm

    i love that it’s a palindrome today! my wedding date is an equation, and it makes me way too happy (july 17th, so day/month/year style it’s 17-7=10!)

    Reply
    • 11. Heather  |  January 11, 2010 at 11:16 pm

      haha I love that!!! and that you figured it out too 🙂

      Reply
  • 12. thelocalguide  |  January 11, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    those yellow circles are yellow carrots? had never seen such a thing.
    Nice food 🙂

    Reply
  • 13. nutritionbyeve  |  January 11, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    Your sandwich looks amazing! I’m all about melted cheese on yummy bread, I could eat it daily 🙂

    Reply
  • 14. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad  |  January 11, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    I’ve had that digestive blend before, and I agree, it tastes kinda funky. Something wrong with the sauce I think.

    Reply
  • 15. Anna  |  January 11, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    Mmmm…that sandwich looks so good! I love the Green Giant veggie blends, but I’ve never had the digestive health one…I guess I’ll stay away from it!

    Reply
  • 16. megan  |  January 11, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    I have been seriously addicted to gummy bears recently. as in, I can’t stop eating them. mine aren’t from germany though!

    Reply
  • 17. eatmovelove  |  January 11, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    Haha – whenever there’s something that I don’t like (food-wise) a good healthy covering of ketchup or spaghetti sauce usually does the trick 😉 – holy sodium hey?! yikes. oh well…loveeeee the gummy bears – my best buds 😉 .

    Reply
  • 18. frogsandmen  |  January 11, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    ah frozen vegetables….how would i get through the winter without them?

    Reply
  • 19. Whole Body Love  |  January 11, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    I get my discounted texts at half.com. I never tried amazon though.

    Reply
  • 20. Shelly  |  January 12, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    I noticed that date…it was a big day. My son left for basic training. How appropriate that the date so memoriable.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

