Brain Fog

January 11, 2010 at 8:55 am 11 comments

My brain is having a hard time remembering it’s supposed to actually work this morning.

Case in point:

I put my oats in the microwave then walked away (Nope, didn’t turn it on)

I opened the jar of PB, put the spoon next to it, closed the jar of PB, and put it away. (Didn’t get any out)

Doh!

I also spilled coffee on my new white-fabric chair. But with the magical powers of Shout, vinegar, and baking soda combined, permanent damage was minimized.

I thought I would regale you with a picture of my oats pre-stirred this morning.

DSCN0364

Quite a bit more attractive, huh?!

The mix included oats, almond milk, unsweetened coconut, wheat germ, pecans, and cottage cheese. Of course I added a spoonful of PB after stirring was completed 😉

I also made myself a latte to ward off the case of the Mondays syndrome.

make latte latte

coffee foam

If you don’t yet know my secrets to a homemade latte, the key is shake-shake-shaking the milk up BEFORE heating it up. (So it doesn’t explode all over you…ask me how I learned this.) Then pour it in to hot coffee and voila, a coffeehouse caliber latte without the big bucks. I don’t so much care about the foam, but something about the steamed milk just makes it so much better than my regular cup of coffee with milk poured in cold.

Taking a look at my training schedule, I’ll be running 12 miles this week! 3.5 on Tues and Thurs, and 5 on Sunday! Can’t wait to see how they go 🙂

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Training. Tags: , , , , .

Date Night Books and Bites

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theprocessofhealing  |  January 11, 2010 at 9:53 am

    Ok so I HAVE to try that technique to make a latte.. it seems so easy and so much better than the normal cup of coffee!!

    Reply
  • 2. marathonmaiden  |  January 11, 2010 at 10:09 am

    that latte looks professional or something 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Gelareh @ Orange Truffle  |  January 11, 2010 at 10:43 am

    Thanks for the cleaning tip.. I just added it to my little notebook.

    I do the same with my milk if I want a frothy cup.. well I am off coffee for a while.

    Reply
  • 4. amandapanda1981  |  January 11, 2010 at 11:10 am

    Good luck on your running schedule. 🙂 Your latte and oats look super yummy!

    Reply
  • 5. Anna  |  January 11, 2010 at 11:13 am

    lol…I have brain-fart moments like that all the time…especially in the early morning 🙂

    That foam looks divine!

    Reply
  • 6. diana  |  January 11, 2010 at 11:23 am

    Sometimes I don’t know where my head is either. Have fun running this week. Luckily, it is suppose to warm up as the week goes on.

    Reply
  • 7. Lizzy  |  January 11, 2010 at 11:27 am

    yummm your homemade latte looks delish! don’t worry about the brain fog…it’s monday!! at least you have a great attitude about your foggy accidents! 🙂 Hope your monday turns around! xoxo!

    Reply
  • 8. Whitney @ Lettuce Love  |  January 11, 2010 at 11:44 am

    Mondays can be brutal some weeks. I love that latte — it is so fancy 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Casey  |  January 11, 2010 at 11:47 am

    Haha…I do stuff like that all the time!! Not walk away without turning on the microwave (at least not yet) but one time I put a bag of cheese in the pantry instead of the fridge…then ate it anyway b/c I didn’t want to waste it. Haha.

    Reply
  • 10. lessonstolearn  |  January 11, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Your training schedule looks great. I did my first half in November and it was a great experience.

    I’m new to your blog…. you mentioned being in school. What are you studying. I think, if I read you’re “about” page correctly you are an RD? I am back in school myself to be an RD, so I am always interested in others doing the same. I’ll be reading 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. greensandjeans  |  January 11, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    This morning I put the milk in the freezer after I was done with it. Oops

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

