Tastes of Purely Decadent

January 12, 2010 at 10:00 pm 10 comments

Please update your readers! SoS is now at http://sideofsneakers.com

I forgot to mention that you guys sure know how to give a good pep talk. I’m definitely going to conquer those classes 🙂

Apparently my brain farts are dragging into today. I went to the grocery store to stock up but I forgot my wallet.

I didn’t feel like trudging all the way back, so I dug through the fridge, freezer, and pantry for something for dinner. I literally piled whatever was left into a salad.

DSCN0475

DSCN0476

I think I ended up with spinach, bell peppers, some egg, feta cheese, sunflower seeds, and marinated mushrooms. Oh and chickpeas! I’m a huge salad dressing mixer—I had a squirt of Buttermilk Ranch and then some Wishbone spray dressing that was Raspberry Vinaigrette.

I also dug out an old Lean Cuisine (not that old don’t worry). Parmesan Crusted Fish.

DSCN0479DSCN0480

I’m lame, I know. It wasn’t bad really. Not enough though. I definitely see a good snack in my future.

Then I took a couple minutes to unwind with a glass of red wine.

DSCN0482

Now that was too old. Blech. Apparently you can’t just leave a bottle of wine sitting on the counter for a month and expect it to taste good.

As I relaxed, I wrote a couple cards.

DSCN0461

A thank you to my step-grandparents (for Christmas gifts-I know, I’m way behind schedule) and a get well card for my dad.

DSCN0459

DSCN0458

Ok if you’re squeamish stop reading now and skip ahead. My dad shot a nail directly through the center of his eyeball. (!!!) Then he pulled it out by himself. He refused to call an ambulance, but when his girlfriend came over she drove him to the hospital where he ended up having surgery. Amazingly, it looks like he’s gonna be just fine. He might have another surgery or two in the upcoming weeks but they’re hopeful he’ll gain his sight back. Isn’t that gross though?!

[It’s safe to read again now]

I love handwritten notes 🙂 I don’t write them enough, but I love them. Especially these days when it’s so much easier to write an email. Getting mail is one of my favorite things ever- I get sad when the mailman hasn’t come by the time I’ve gotten home. Again, I’m lame, I know. I’m ok with it.

My fridge may be empty, but I did find a treat hidden in my freezer that I keep forgetting to try.

DSCN0484 DSCN0483

Two ice creams from Purely Decadent by Turtle Mountain. I was really wanting to try some of the SO Delicious products- I kept hunting them down in the grocery store with no success, then I finally stumbled about these. I figured same company, might as well give it a try! I LOVE coconut so the coconut flavor made with coconut milk made obvious sense.  Then I grabbed the Mocha Almond Fudge because it looked interesting. (I love coffee—chocolate not so much, so this was a risk)

First up, the coconut:

DSCN0486

When I took my first bite, I fell in love. Then I fell out of love. The first taste was so rich and truly coconutty, but that great flavor quickly faded away and was replaced by a watery taste…and not a good watery taste. I was so heartbroken. It almost tasted “diet-y”, and for 170 calories for 1/2 cup, it shouldn’t taste like diet food.

Next up, Mocha Almond Fudge:

DSCN0485

Looked promising…. and I was pretty pleased. It was little icy in texture (just a little) but had a full flavor. I really like the chunks of actual almond pieces mixed in each bite.

I kept alternating spoonfuls of each flavor right from the carton because I couldn’t decide which one to go with. I finally put them away, but I’ve finally made up my mind to get a mug of the Mocha (so I can get some before the husband comes home and snatches it all up!)

Judging from this small sampling of their products, I’d definitely like to try some more. Like I said, I love coconut milk, so there’s gotta be some good ones in there! The drawback however is the price—I think these were like $5.50 and they’re pints. I only got them because I had 2 coupons for $2 off (so they were only $3.50—still a lot though!)

Now for some more giveaway love:

Check out Live, Love, Eat, and Play and Bran Appetit

Have a good evening!!

Entry filed under: Dinner, Other. Tags: , , , , , , .

Four Eyes Toasty Warm

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Danielle  |  January 12, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    I love the Purely Decadent Coconut ice creams! I have to say though…the coconut flavor is my least favorite.
    OMG <– in reference to your dad. I would be freaking out

    Reply
  • 2. theprocessofhealing  |  January 12, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    I’ve never had the ice cream itself alone but if you see the ice cream sandwiches… they are to DIE for! Incredible!!!!

    Reply
    • 3. Heather  |  January 13, 2010 at 8:48 am

      I’ll keep an eye out for them!

      Reply
  • 4. burpexcuzme  |  January 13, 2010 at 1:55 am

    I’ve heard so much good things about this “ice cream”…I would love to try it!

    Haha, excuse me, did you say BRAIN FART? Loveyou!!!!

    Reply
    • 5. Heather  |  January 13, 2010 at 8:47 am

      Yes, yes I did! haha

      Reply
  • 6. Anna  |  January 13, 2010 at 8:02 am

    That is CRAZY about your dad– so glad he’s going to be okay!

    I had their vanilla bean ice cream about a week ago, and it was just okay. It had a funky aftertaste going on, for sure.

    Reply
  • 7. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down)  |  January 13, 2010 at 8:49 am

    I wonder if you let the purely decadent icecream melt for just a bit, it would be creamier? I know for the Coconut Bliss icecream I tried a while back, it tasted a little icy at first, but when I let it sit for about 5 min, it melted and made for an incredibly *creamy* treat. 😀 Not sure if that would work for purely decadent though….the flavors sound fabulous! 😀

    Reply
    • 8. Heather  |  January 13, 2010 at 10:04 am

      Oo I’ll give that a try!

      Reply
  • 9. marathonmaiden  |  January 13, 2010 at 10:09 am

    hope your dad’s okay! but the medical person in me wants more details 😛

    Reply
  • 10. Anna Marie  |  January 13, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    I love Purely Decadent coconut milk ice cream! I haven’t tasted the coconut flavor, but the Turtle Trails, Chocolate, and Mint Chip are scrumptious!

    What a story about your dad! It’s unbelievable that he’s going to be able to see out of that eye again, but that is so fantastic! I’m happy he’s going to be okay!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

