I Interrupt your Reading…

January 13, 2010 at 7:00 pm 6 comments

for this little story.

When my husband and I met five years ago, I was less than interested in meeting a guy. I’d written them all off. I was rather bored at party one night.. it was late, and I was tired.  I don’t know how it came up, but this guy started telling me about a mission trip he had been on in Haiti. I can honestly tell you I wasn’t listening AT ALL until he said this. My fuzzy view of him suddenly came into focus. My ears perked up. The same year he was building shelters in Haiti, I was volunteering at an orphanage in the Dominican Republic. I couldn’t believe the coincidence. (Haiti and the Dominican Republic together make up the island Hispaniola.)

Fast forward a lot of boring details and five years, and we’re happily married, still sharing a bond over volunteering in the same third world country at the same time. We each hold a special place in our hearts for the countries we were in.

So why am I telling you this now?

Yesterday my husband called me with the devastating news of the 7.0 magnitude earthquake in Haiti.

It feels as if there’s not much we can do from here, but there is. I won’t go on and on about it, but here’s a link to the White House Blog that talks about how you can help Haiti. They are encouraging donations through the American Red Cross. (or here is the donation form.

 

Remember every little bit adds up. And if you can’t do anything, at least send good thoughts their way in this horrible time.

 

Thanks for reading, and your regularly-scheduled blogging will resume with dinner  🙂

Entry filed under: Other. Tags: .

Go Go Go! Sghetti on Crack

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. marathonmaiden  |  January 13, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    definitely sending thoughts and prayers that way!

    Reply
  • 2. Erin  |  January 13, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    Thanks for this timely post. It’s going to be a long process to regain any normalcy there.

    Reply
  • 3. megan  |  January 13, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    i love that you gave your future husband a chance when he mentioned a mission trip 🙂 you’ve got your priorities right! 🙂 great post…good reminder

    Reply
  • 4. Julie @ Pickley Pear  |  January 13, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    Nice post and nice story about you and your husband. My thoughts are with the people of Haiti.

    Reply
  • 5. Danielle  |  January 13, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    That’s terrible 😦 I’m definitely sending good thoughts
    I always find it interesting to hear how people meet their husbands. Sometimes it’s so random 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Shelly  |  January 13, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    It is hard to understand loss at that magnitude.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

