Sghetti on Crack

January 13, 2010 at 8:24 pm 11 comments

I love how hours and minutes have the ability to expand and contract as you need them to sometimes. I made it to the eye doctor’s office literally a minute before they closed. Since I already knew what I needed and they just needed my $$ they let me in! (Of course, cuz they wanted my moolah)

I had a Orange Cranberry Gnu bar on the way.

DSCN0511

Tomorrow I’m head to MD for a nutrition conference, so I’ve got lots to cram in to tonight. I realized I had time to go to the grocery store or squeeze in a workout. I decided to just make it a spaghetti night and did the 30 Day Shred while the pasta cooked. (It takes AGES for water to boil on my stove.) I modified some of the cardio segments so I wouldn’t put any extra impact on my feet.

Dinner was some Barilla Pasta Plus with Classico Vodka Sauce.

I needed a little more sustenance than that, so I also roasted some frozen broccoli florets and red onion pieces. There’s always 10,000 more trunks than florets in frozen broc bags, and I didn’t really feel like eating all the trunks, so I ran them through my food processor with a little garlic (pesto-ish maybe?) and roasted the puree along with the other veggies. Then I stirred it into the sauce- it’d be a great way to sneak veggies into an unknowing subject haha. It just thickened up the sauce!

veggies veggies

I’ve never had Vodka Sauce before—it was like marinara on crack. It tasted like I stirred in a whole bunch of parmesan cheese. Yum!

DSCN0514

spaghetti

Topped the whole thing off with some crumbled feta cheese and a side of garlic bread.

spaghetti dinner

spaghetti

I may or may not had a spoonful of Purely Decadent somewhere in there too.

DSCN0513

Whenever I go out of town, I find it particularly useful to try to plan ahead for workouts- finding out if there’s access to a gym or running trails, safety of the area, etc. My trip is Thursday to Monday. I’ll have time to fit in a run before my flight tomorrow, so that’s no big deal. I’ll also be back in time Monday to do something when I get home. So really the only thing I need to plan for is cross training on Saturday and a 5 mile run on Sunday.

The conference just so happens to be about half an hour from where I grew up, so I’ll be staying with mi madre 🙂 (The conference is only Fri & Sat, so I get some visiting time too!) Momma said I could use a guess pass at her gym, so if that fits into the day I’ll go for it. Not too worried about that.

As far as the run, there’s a park I can get to from her house that I used to LOVE to run through when I was growing up. I pulled up Map My Run to figure out a way to make it 5 miles.

lake

The park is a 2.6 mile loop around a lake. I found a way to run through the neighborhood to the park, that is juuust shy of 5 miles. I’m so excited! (Although I just looked up the weather conditions- chance of wintery mix all weekend). Anyways, I’m squishing all my warm running gear into my tiny carry-on suitcase (no baggage fees for me!) and hoping for the best. Worst case scenario it doesn’t happen and I”ll shift it to Monday.

Off to go finish up packing!

Giveaway love for the day:

I Declare giveaway

Entry filed under: Dinner. Tags: , , , .

I Interrupt your Reading… Oatsplosion!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erin  |  January 13, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    Where in Maryland will you be? If you’re in the DC suburbs, I can definitely recommend some places to go (although if you grew up here, you probably already know them!).

    Reply
  • 2. abbynormally  |  January 13, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    oh my, I looooove vodka sauce! And I haven’t had it in forever.. I think it’s going to go on the menu in the near future!

    Reply
  • 3. Teamarcia  |  January 13, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    I’ll have to try that ground broccoli trunk hidden in sauce trick on my hubby!
    Thanks for the link! : )

    Reply
  • 4. marathonmaiden  |  January 13, 2010 at 9:31 pm

    that vodka sauce sounds yummy! i’ve never had it either.

    Reply
  • 5. greensandjeans  |  January 13, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    I love checking out new running spots when I’m out of town! So fun that you get to stay with your madre!

    Reply
  • 6. onelittlejill  |  January 13, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    I love Vodka sauce. Crack.

    Reply
  • 7. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  January 13, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    oooh I do the same thing too when I travel! Thank goodness for the internet – it helps me plan my workout schedules before I even get there….LOVE IT!

    Reply
  • 8. diana  |  January 14, 2010 at 7:30 am

    The park looks really nice. Vodka sauce is so very good.

    Reply
  • 9. Shannon  |  January 14, 2010 at 8:11 am

    I love running in different places…no better way to get to know an area (even though you know this area already). I ran all over Seattle over Christmas and it was wonderful!

    Great dinner. I love Classico sauces. They’re the only bottled sauces I really like.

    Reply
  • 10. Danielle  |  January 14, 2010 at 8:51 am

    I’m from MD! Enjoy your trip & your run 🙂
    And I hate how frozen broc is all stems!

    Reply
  • 11. shelly  |  January 14, 2010 at 10:48 am

    Great job getting your miles in.

    I am going to try Vodka sauce. It sounds yummy from your description!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

