Toasty Warm

January 13, 2010 at 8:49 am 13 comments

Please update your readers! SoS is now at http://sideofsneakers.com

 

Betcha can guess what I just ate for breakfast.

 

Betcha you’re wrong 😉

 

FRENCH TOAST!!!!!

DSCN0407

The secret to good French toast is good bread. I don’t usually have any good French toast bread. I grabbed this bread when it was on sale, and I really like it, so I figured I’d give some toast a try. (Even though it’s not really good French toast bread)

DSCN0412

Egg Beaters, almond milk, cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla, all whisked together.

DSCN0404 

I like letting the bread soak in the batter for a minute so it can seep into the inside—keeps it from being dry when you cook it.

 

I melted some peanut butter and drizzled it all over the bread, then sprinkled cinnamon and unsweetened coconut flakes on top.

DSCN0408 

Oh boy, delicious!! Yum. I might have to do this again 🙂

With a cup of tea to warm my chilly fingers.

DSCN0160 DSCN0158 DSCN0159

Who AM I?! Where’s the oats and coffee?!  🙂

Entry filed under: Breakfast. Tags: , , .

Tastes of Purely Decadent Go Go Go!

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theprocessofhealing  |  January 13, 2010 at 8:55 am

    That looks so delicious!!! I am always eating some kind of oats for breakfast but that would be a nice change!! My only concern is that one slice of bread probably wouldn’t fill me up. Is it more filling than I would think?

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  January 13, 2010 at 10:05 am

      Nope..I thought it would be filling but wasn’t. I went back and made 2 more 🙂 I think next time I’ll have it as a “side” to my oats–the best of both worlds!

      Reply
      • 3. theprocessofhealing  |  January 13, 2010 at 10:40 am

        Haha good idea! Now that would be the perfect breakfast 😉 !

  • 4. Anna  |  January 13, 2010 at 9:13 am

    Mmmmm..what a decadent breakfast! Love it!

    Reply
  • 5. Mel-2nd Chances  |  January 13, 2010 at 9:16 am

    Mmmm, now I’m hungry again! 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. brandi  |  January 13, 2010 at 9:29 am

    ooh, coconut on french toast? I need to try this soon

    Reply
  • 7. Becca  |  January 13, 2010 at 10:09 am

    Looks yummy!!! I love peanut butter on french toast!

    Reply
  • 8. thetwentyfifthyear  |  January 13, 2010 at 10:39 am

    I am the master of French Toast – it’s the best on challah bread (although not the healthiest I’m sure.) I like to shake things up once or twice a week, too. And the pb? Good idea…I love me some peanut butter.

    Reply
  • 9. lowandbhold  |  January 13, 2010 at 11:10 am

    Yum! Your french toast looks so pretty! I want it now!

    Reply
  • 10. Lauren @ Reading and Running  |  January 13, 2010 at 11:49 am

    Yum! I haven’t had french toast in forever! Seems like lots of people are though. I’m going to start having a craving soon, thanks!

    Reply
  • 11. diana  |  January 13, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    I totally agree with you on good bread making great french toast. It looks delicious!

    Reply
  • 12. Shannon  |  January 13, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    What a nice week day treat! I need to find some good gluten-free bread for french toast because I miss it!

    Reply
  • 13. Sara  |  January 13, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    This looks amazing!! I can’t remember the last time I made french toast for myself, it always seems like too much work. I can’t seem to find any unsweetened coconut though…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

