Leaving on a Jet Plane

January 14, 2010 at 1:01 pm 13 comments

Well my bags are packed and I’m heading out!  I have no idea what the internet/computer situation will be- never fear, I’ve got a couple posts prepared and waiting for you just in case I can’t stop in and say hi as much as I’d like!

The conference I’m going to is a sports nutrition and exercise workshop called Aging Healthfully. I’m pretty excited about it! The schedule of topics looks great, and I’m thrilled about the leaders of the workshop:

Nancy Clark, MS, RD (pretty much my sports nutrition hero) & Bill Evans, Ph.D (researcher and author). Judging the pre-readings I did, I should be learning lots of great stuff and I can’t wait to share some of it with you!

I’ve got about four hours of flying and an hour layover, plus I’m flying Delta which always seems to be delayed, so I’ve got lots of reading material with me!

I’m super excited about what came in the mail yesterday:

runner's world

Not one, but two issues of Runner’s World! (A Christmas present!) I also saved the lastest Women’s Health and Cooking Light to bring with me. (I do not like being bored on a plane/airport.)

I also packed some snacks since I don’t know if I’ll have time to grab anything on my layover or not. I already packed my camera up, but I have a pb&j sammy, Wheat Thins and some cut up Gouda, a Fiber One bar, a snack pack of almonds, and some of the muffins I made last night.

DSCN0217

I quickly finished up Julie and Julia so I could bring a whole new book with me. I enjoyed Julie and Julia, but I felt like she tried to cram an awful lot in there. I’m looking forward to checking out the movie one of these days, because I think I might actually like it better than the book for once. I did really like reading about the different types of foods that we don’t really use too much in the US (or these days at all) and Julie’s hunts to find the ingredients.

Now on to Eat, Pray, Love!

DSCN0212

I’ve made the big girl decision not to run today. I’m optimistic though and still bringing my running gear with me!

…and I’m off!! Not sure when I’ll “see” you again, so hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Stop by Bran Appetit to say happy blog birthday!!

Entry filed under: Other. Tags: , , , .

C9 x 10000000000 Exciting Info!

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theprocessofhealing  |  January 14, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    That conference wounds really interesting! I look forward to hearing things that you learned!

    I actually thought Julie and Julia the movie was better than the book and that is extremely rare. You should see it!! I’ve also been wanting to read eat,pray,love so I’m curious to hear if it’s good!

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  January 16, 2010 at 4:07 pm

      I really need to rent it! I’ll let you know how eat, pray, love is 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. lindsayruns  |  January 14, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    Do let me know what you think of Eat, Pray, Love!

    Reply
    • 4. Heather  |  January 16, 2010 at 4:08 pm

      I will! So far it’s good!

      Reply
  • 5. Becca  |  January 14, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    I watched the movie Julie & Julia, I want to read the book…is it good?

    Reply
    • 6. Heather  |  January 16, 2010 at 4:09 pm

      It was good, but I felt like she was trying to cram a lot into the book, and it could actually work better as a movie where you can pick up on details visually instead of reading all of them listed out.

      Reply
  • 7. marathonmaiden  |  January 14, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    i’ve heard that the movie and book of julie and julia are really different? i’ve seem the movie (and really liked it) and am debating whether or not i want to read the book…thoughts?

    Reply
    • 8. Heather  |  January 16, 2010 at 4:09 pm

      I reallly need to see the movie, and then I can definitely tell you which one I like better! I enjoyed the book–not my favorite, but not bad either.

      Reply
  • 9. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  January 14, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    Have fun on your travels! It sounds like you are well prepared 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. Britt @ Runnerbelle  |  January 14, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    I should send my mom to that conference as an example! LOL
    She is 65 was going skiing tonight, did yoga yesterday and is training for the Boston Marathon…. plus she is such a good eater.

    Lots of great reading!!! My Runner’s World subscription seemed to end all of a sudden without warning… luckily my mom renewed it the other day as a late Christmas present. Phew…..

    Reply
    • 11. Heather  |  January 16, 2010 at 4:10 pm

      Phew! Thank goodness for Mom’s and runner’s world subscriptions…she got me mine too 🙂

      Reply
  • 12. onelittlejill  |  January 15, 2010 at 6:44 am

    I pack lots of books fro airplanes too. I am way too ADD to sit that long without something to do! Have fun!

    Reply
  • 13. shelly  |  January 15, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    Safe travels! Have loads of fun.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

