Oatsplosion!

January 14, 2010 at 7:55 am 11 comments

Minor oatastrophe this morning. While zapping my oats in the microwave, I glanced through the glass of the door with about 30 seconds to go and caught a glimpse of a volcano of oats shooting up to the top of the microwave!

I tried to catch a picture but the eruption subsided as soon as I stopped the microwave. Not too much damage was done-I was left with this:

oats

oats 

I think it must have been because I used regular milk instead of almond milk. It’s the only thing I did differently.

This wasn’t the first oatmeal explosion I’ve experienced—once I didn’t realize what was going on and grabbed the bowl out of the microwave, only to find it was burning hot. I immediately dropped the bowl and oatmeal went flying everywhere- predominately down my leg and landing on my foot. Because of the thick, sticky nature of oatmeal, I couldn’t get it off fast enough. I ended up with serious burns and blisters! I still have a little bit of a scar if you look closely. Who knew oats could be dangerous?!

Anyway, after a little clean up, my oats turned out just fine.

oats

Today’s mix: oats, skim milk, cinnamon,  nutmeg, pecans, wheat germ, flax seed, cottage cheese, PB!!

 

I decided to make some muffins last night so I could take some as a snack on the plane this evening.

I ended up using a mix I had lying around, but jazzed it up a little.

I started with a mix for honey bran muffins, then threw in some whole wheat flour, ground flax seed, wheat germ, vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, and chopped walnuts. I added a little extra liquid to  make up for all the extra ingredients.

muffin mix

mufin 

On the feet-front, I seem to have done some damage on my pace-pushing run on Tuesday. I’m trying to avoid the ugly waterfall of thoughts (pain—>no running—>never run again) and just taking it a moment at a time. I’m doing the whole ice thing now, and I’ll be evaluating whether a run is in the cards today a little later. It mostly like is not.

The thing about ice is, it’s COLD!!! So I’m sipping some extra hot coffee and curled up in some blankets while I do some reading for class.

coffee coffee

I keep getting distracted from my reading by the Today Show’s report on the Haiti earthquake- my heart just breaks for them 😦

Entry filed under: Breakfast. Tags: , , , .

Sghetti on Crack C9 x 10000000000

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mel-2nd Chances  |  January 14, 2010 at 8:05 am

    oh boy! Hope the rest of the day goes better after the oatsplosion!

    Reply
  • 2. Anna  |  January 14, 2010 at 9:01 am

    lol– that has definitely happened to me before! So frustrating!

    Reply
  • 3. lindsayruns  |  January 14, 2010 at 9:07 am

    I really appreciate your comment this morning. I hate when life is out of wack. That is crazy about your burns! I always do stovetop or nuke water and stir it in.

    Reply
  • 4. Becca  |  January 14, 2010 at 9:41 am

    Ouch! I’ve totally done that before…not good! The muffins look yummy though!

    Reply
  • 5. marathonmaiden  |  January 14, 2010 at 10:02 am

    that is why i use the good old fashion heat-water-up-in-a-kettle method for my oats 😉 haha

    Reply
  • 6. greensandjeans  |  January 14, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    The worst part of an oats explosion is having to clean it up! Yuck!

    Reply
  • 7. Mollie  |  January 14, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    Haha, the oatsplosion is the story of my life.

    I make oatmeal at work in my mug every day and stand in front of the microwave closely watching to make sure I catch it before it explodes.

    My most ridiculous?
    2 years ago I had a hip flexer injury. It was early morning, and I was microwaving my oats. I glanced across the kitchen and saw my oats about to explode – so I lunged for the microwave…and tore my hamstring!

    Try explaining that one to the Athletic Trainers!

    Reply
  • 8. lessonstolearn  |  January 14, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    Overflowing oatmeal is the worst because it is so sticky to clean up!

    I hope your foot feels better. Rest it and you’ll be back running in no time. (Although I understand the waterflow of thoughts…that’s where my mind goes too when I am hurting.)

    Reply
  • 9. theprocessofhealing  |  January 14, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    I hope your foot heals up fast! Just take it easy and think positive thoughts, you WILL run again!!

    Reply
  • 10. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  January 14, 2010 at 6:09 pm

    oh no – hopw your foot feels better soon!

    Reply
  • 11. Long, Lean, & Wonderful « with a Side of Sneakers  |  February 8, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    […] 1. Oatmeal […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

