Tobacco Road Half Marathon

January 16, 2010 at 7:25 am 16 comments

Just wanted to tell you a little bit more about the half that I’m training for on March 21st!

Not only is this race exciting because it’ll be the first time I’ve done a half in 10 years (yikes), but it’s the inaugural running of this race!

The race is being held in Cary, North Carolina. Seven miles of the half marathon will be on the American Tobacco Trail.

The trail follows the path of an old railroad that was used to transport tobacco leaf from local farms to a processing plant in Durham, NC (The American Tobacco Company). While I think it’s entirely ironic that a marathon is being held on a tobacco trail, it looks like it will be a beautiful place to run.

The race starts (and finishes) at Thomas Brooks Park’s USA Baseball training stadium then heads out on 3 miles of paved road towards the American Tobacco Trail, which I believe is a crushed gravel surface. (The description says “compacted screenings”-no idea what that is, but from the picture above it looks like dirt and gravel.)

It looks like technically the half marathon is now going to be the Bay Six Half Marathon due to sponsorship, but I’m not sure-we’ll see. (That’s all part of signing up for a brand new race!)

The race benefits the Triangle Rails to Trails Conservancy (an organization to turn abandoned railroads into recreational trails or sites of future transportation) and the Wounded Warrior Project (a group providing services to severely injured service members). I love knowing what a race is supporting. Finding out why the organizers chose such beneficiaries can be really interesting as well.

Course map:

trm

And elevation:

trm2

Looks pretty good to me!!

(See now when I do my race recap I can leave out all the boring details! ;))

I’m very very excited to be doing this race with two of my great girlfriends from college. We live 512 miles apart, so I never imagined we could train for a race “together”, but it’s been great support! I can’t wait to see them at the starting line!!!

I’m following a training schedule that has me running only three days a week so I can minimize the impact on my feet. Hopefully including cross training will help me be race ready!

Entry filed under: Other.

2 into 2010 Wedding in the Snow

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shannon  |  January 16, 2010 at 8:01 am

    What fun! THat looks like a great course. I love the dirt trails!

    Reply
  • 2. greensandjeans  |  January 16, 2010 at 9:20 am

    What a cool race! I always love when races aren’t on paved roads because my body and joints are so much happier when I’m done!

    Reply
    • 3. Heather  |  January 16, 2010 at 4:11 pm

      I’m looking forward to that part!

      Reply
  • 4. Britt @ Runnerbelle  |  January 16, 2010 at 9:53 am

    Love the irony of doing a race on that old railroad trail. We have a rail trail going in behind our house, I cannot wait till its done!! It will be so nice to have a trail literally in my backyard. 🙂

    Reply
    • 5. Heather  |  January 16, 2010 at 4:11 pm

      Oh that’ll definitely be great! You’ll be so spoiled 😉

      Reply
  • 6. theprocessofhealing  |  January 16, 2010 at 9:55 am

    Good luck, that seems like such a great race!!! And you will have some cool scenery it looks like!

    Reply
  • 7. Anna  |  January 16, 2010 at 10:21 am

    Looks like an awesome trail! It will keep you entertained with the scenery, for sure!

    Reply
  • 8. Shelly  |  January 16, 2010 at 11:13 am

    Looks like a nice run! Hav fun getting ready for it.

    Reply
  • 9. Katherine  |  January 16, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    That looks like a great course! I used to go to college in NC, and it’s a lovely place.

    Reply
  • 10. marathonmaiden  |  January 16, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    wow i’ll echo everyone and say great course! i wish i had the funds to travel to it. maybe someday 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Almost Spring « with a Side of Sneakers  |  March 10, 2010 at 8:50 am

    […] 11 days til Spring!!! And only 11 days til race day! […]

    Reply
  • 12. Jolie  |  March 17, 2010 at 5:41 am

    Hi! I want to say thanks for an interesting site about a subject I have had an interest in for a long time now. I have been lurking and reading the posts avidly so just wanted to express my thanks for providing me with some very good reading material. I look forward to more, and taking a more active part in the discussions here.

    Reply
    • 13. Heather  |  March 17, 2010 at 7:21 am

      Thanks for reading and stopping by to say hi!! 🙂

      Reply
  • 14. Sneaky Friday « with a Side of Sneakers  |  March 19, 2010 at 6:24 am

    […] so crazy that I’ve completely lost track of what day is what. I sure hope I don’t forget when SUNDAY rolls […]

    Reply
  • 15. Samantha Angela @ Bikini Birthday  |  March 19, 2010 at 8:45 am

    Oh the irony of a race on a “tobacco trail”.

    I think it’s a good sign that the trail has been converted from transporting tobacco to a place where people exercise!

    Reply
  • […] Tobacco Road Half Marathon!!! […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

