Weekend in Review Part Dos

January 18, 2010 at 8:12 pm 10 comments

Saturday

Another great conference day! Afterwards we headed to downtown Baltimore for a party at the aquarium. (It was fine driving through the city during the playoff game- all the lights were purple for the Ravens!) My mom has been a volunteer for the aquarium since I was 10 months old. She started as a tour guide, and has since moved up to be a diver- she feeds the fishies and sting-rays! Saturday was the annual volunteer appreciation party. The theme was “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”- you could either where an evening gown or PJs. Since I don’t tend to travel with my evening gown, I opted for the PJs. (Ok, I would have chosen PJs no matter what!). I think my mom and I were two of five people that didn’t dress up. It was very strange to put on PJs to go to a party!

aquarium

The first hour was a cocktail and appetizer hour. I had a glass of Chardonnay, a mini ham biscuit sandwich, a slice of brie on a cracker, and part of two latkes- one regular, one sweet potato.

Dinner was a rather odd buffet. They had waffles and pork barbeque…quite strange. I opted out of both of those and instead had diced sweet potatoes, grilled asparagus, a couple bites of a slice of pork (I didn’t like it at all), and spinach salad with honey mustard.

Dessert was the most amazing hot chocolate from a local mill. It tasted like they had melted a gourmet chocolate bar into a mug and served it 🙂 The best part was the handcut marshmallow squares on top-they practically filled the whole mug. As if that wasn’t enough, I also had a small square of baklava.

Our table was right next to the underwater dolphin tank window. It was so fun to eat dinner and watch the dolphins swim by.

dolphin

Sunday

Sunday morning my mom and I went to see The Blind Side. Oh my goodness—such a good movie!! Heartwarming with just enough humor! If you haven’t seen this, GO!! 🙂

blindside

After the movie my mom and stepdad went to go photograph a wedding while I worked on some homework. My textbooks haven’t come yet so I attempted my first paper without them. Then I picked my mom up from the wedding and we went to dinner at my step-sister and bro-in-law’s. (The ones that just got married!) They cooked us a fabulous dinner!

I loved their teamwork in the kitchen, I thought it was so sweet. He cooked maple-glazed salmon and roasted root vegetables. She made miso soup and a wonderful salad with goat cheese, apples, and maple balsamic vinaigrette.  For dessert my stepsister attempted Julia Child’s Chocolate Almond Cake—with great success I might add.

And there ya have it, that was my weekend! I will be definitely be sharing lots of great nutrition and exercise info over the next few days at a minimum! Now I’m glad to be home and back to regular blogging 😉

Entry filed under: Dessert, Dinner. Tags: , , , .

Weekend in Review Part Uno On the Go

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theprocessofhealing  |  January 18, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    What a great weekend and I can’t wait to hear some of the things that you learned!
    And that hot chocolate sounds out of this world!!! GOOD hot chocolate, real hot chocolate, is incredible!

    Reply
  • 2. marathonmaiden  |  January 18, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    great weekend! sounds like a blast. can’t wait for you to share your knowledge with us 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. greensandjeans  |  January 18, 2010 at 11:55 pm

    Sounds like such a wonderful conference! I love the idea of that Breakfast at Tiffanys party!

    Reply
  • 4. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  January 19, 2010 at 1:52 am

    It sounds like you had so much fun! I love the idea of wearing PJs to a party – comfortable for sure 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Shannon  |  January 19, 2010 at 6:14 am

    Wow! I want your mom’s job! What fun! And what a fun weekend. I’m glad you got to mix in family time with a work conference 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Anna  |  January 19, 2010 at 9:54 am

    Awww…looks amazing! I love aquariums!

    Reply
  • 7. fromatopink  |  January 19, 2010 at 11:10 am

    Sounds like such a fun weekend! I actually went to the Bmore aquarium on Friday for the first time in YEARS. So fun! And Blind Side was fantastic – makes me want to read the book. 🙂

    Reply
    • 8. Heather  |  January 19, 2010 at 4:33 pm

      How cool!! I hadn’t been in a really long time either. Oh I need to read the book too!

      Reply
  • 9. Heather  |  January 19, 2010 at 11:21 am

    I would love to go to the Baltimore aquarium – I have never been to Baltimore but if I ever go, that is on my list!

    Looks like you had a great weekend! Bravo to attempting to make anything Julia Child!

    Reply
  • 10. Hillary  |  January 19, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    I really want to see The Blind Side, especially after watching the Golden Globes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

