Weekend in Review Part Uno

January 18, 2010 at 5:54 pm 5 comments

The conference I attended this weekend was SO informative—I can’t wait to share a bunch of info with you all! I was very impressed- so often I get excited about a conference and then it fails to be all that I thought it would. This one did not. The long days flew by!

The conference was a joint combo between to health professionals, Nancy Clark, a dietitian, and Bill Evans, an exercise physiologist and researcher. Although I signed up for the conference because I was familiar with Nancy Clark’s work, I was thoroughly impressed with Dr Evans and hung on his every word! More about all that at another time though.

Thursday

Since I was traveling through dinner time, I loaded my carryon with goodies to get me through. A PB sandwich with sunflower seeds and a bit of organic raspberry preserves, gouda and wheat thins (those sure hit the spot!), bran muffins, almonds, and a fiber one bar. I ate everything but the fiber one bar.

 pb sandwichsnacks

My mom picked me up from the airport and we headed home- where I immediately devoured a bowl of Wheat Chex upon walking in the door.

Then I got to work packing a lunch for the next day. I was going to be helping with registration, book sales, and education credits during the conference, and wasn’t sure I’d get a break to go get food. I wanted to make sure I was prepared for a long day of learning!

lunch

I made a sandwich with sliced rotisserie chicken, provolone cheese, and spicy brown mustard, along with sliced red and orange bell peppers, sunflower seeds, Fig Newtons, and almonds.

Friday

I woke up at the crack of dawn so I’d have time to eat breakfast before the conference. I needed to get there nice and early to help out with registration.

I dug through the cabinets and found enough ingredients to make a pretty good version of my favorite breakfast: oatmeal!!

I used Old Fashioned Oats, skim milk, cottage cheese, cinnamon, sunflower seeds, dried mixed fruit (cranberries, cherries, and blueberries I think), and chunky PB.

 oats  

I have no idea where I get my coffee-loving gene- my mom hates coffee and even the smell of it. She has a pretty good tea collection so I dug into this:chai tea

Celestial Seasoning’s India Spice Chai with a little milk. This tea has SO much flavor.Yum.

tea

To make things easy, this is pretty much what I had for breakfast every day. I even ate it in the car on the way to the airport this morning.

  And this is the part of the story where my camera dies. I took a bunch of pictures on my phone, but I have yet to figure out how to get them off my phone and onto the computer. I don’t even know if that’s possible with my phone. Working on it…

After the conference Friday night my family and I went to a local favorite Chinese restaurant. We always order a few dishes and share- I love getting to try a bit of everything. I had hot and sour soup, then we shared General Tso’s chicken, beef and snow peas (just snow peas for me), and snow pea leaves. Snow pea leaves are awesome if you haven’t tried them. They’re rich leafy greens sautéed with huge chunks of garlic. Then fortune cookies and almond cookies for dessert, along with some orange wedges. I love the almond-orange flavor combo!

 

Saturday and Sunday are coming!!

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch. Tags: , , , , .

A Million Thank Yous Weekend in Review Part Dos

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather  |  January 18, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    I always pack a lot of food when I go to conferences as well – you never know where your next meal will come from.

    Can’t wait to hear some of the things you learned about!

    Reply
  • 2. Heather @ The Joyful Kitchen  |  January 18, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    snow pea leaves sound really awesome! and i’m totally digging that lunch you got going on up there too 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. theprocessofhealing  |  January 18, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    Sounds like you had a great time!
    And great planning your meals! They sounds really delicious and so much better for you than fast food would be!

    Reply
  • 4. onelittlejill  |  January 18, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    I love going to Chinese and sharing a bunch of things too. Your conference sounds awesome- I am totally jealous!

    Reply
  • 5. Becca  |  January 19, 2010 at 10:14 am

    I love both tea and coffee but I must say that coffee is my first choice. I’ve been wanting to try to brew my own chai tea but for some reason i’m scared! I need to just suck it up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

