Personal Branding

January 19, 2010 at 8:51 pm 8 comments

Who let me decide to try this whole responsible-running-take-care-of-your-body thing? Oh that’s right- me. It stinks!

Ok, not really, it’s a good thing. You can probably guess that I decided to give it at least another day before trying to run. Which was really hard because it’s been along time since I’ve seen this:

z

So the pool it was.

BUT there was a water aerobics class going on and it had already started. No lap swimming allowed 😦

I lifted weights instead. Tomorrow’s another day.

I snacked on some Wheat Thins and  Laughing Cow Light Garlic and Herb Cheese.

DSCN0552 wheat thins

Then I got caught up in studying and before I knew it, it was time for me to run out the door.

I completely ran out of time for dinner! Since I knew I wouldn’t be home til after 8, I grabbed a Luna bar on my way out.

luna bar

When I got home I ate the only real food I could find. No wonder the husband cried when I didn’t cook him dinner—there’s literally nothing here!! Grocery store ASAP!!

peas

Wow, what a bad blogger dinner. I’ll do better tomorrow, promise 🙂

Anyways, tonight I attended a leadership training session called “Accelerating Your Personal Brand”. I thought it sounded informative and useful- kind of like having your “elevator speech” ready.

Boy was I wrong.

It was literally about your personal brand- as in what you wear. Gahhh! (I should mention here I threw on a zipup hoodie and scarf as I walked out the door….) Most of the “rules” mentioned were about dressing in a corporate workplace, and were slightly obvious. Don’t show your cleavage, wear stockings if you show too much leg, don’t be too casual on casual Friday. I definitely do not work in corporate America.

It basically felt like a bad sales pitch, although if I was loaded I might have been more interested (you could have someone go through your closet for $400…I doubt I have $400 dollars worth of clothes in there…ok wait, I already showed you my workout clothes collection….)

You could get a personal image consultation too, where someone would tell you what clothes work best for you, if your hair is the right length for your face, if your makeup looks good, etc etc. I do think that’d be kind of cool, but I can pretty much figure out what they’d say without paying—I’m a bum 🙂 (I could probably use a few pointers…..haha)

 

I did learn an interesting fact:

It takes all of 30 seconds for someone to form a first impression.

If that 1st impression isn’t good, it takes 10 more meetings to change.

Yikes!

 

I appreciated the take home message of presenting yourself well, but well, that was about it.

So, what’s your best piece of fashion advice?!

 

 

 

And check out these contests:

Megan’s Cookbook Giveaway

Katie’s Vitameata Vitamix Giveaway

Entry filed under: Dinner, Training. Tags: , , , .

Moe Monday…on Tuesday Eat, Pray, Love. Or Just Eat.

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theprocessofhealing  |  January 19, 2010 at 9:31 pm

    Girl.. I SO feel you today!! We had beautiful weather here as well, in the 60s when we have been in the 30s. PERFECT day for a run! But I couldn’t either. 😦 Sometimes we just have to do what’s best for ourselves. Oh well… as you said, tomorrow is another day.

    That session does sound kinda… common sense lol except for the part about the personal consultation thing. That would be interesting!

    Reply
  • 2. Anna  |  January 19, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    Wow– that first impression factoid is really interesting! And yeah, kind of scary!

    lol– get to the grocery store, stat!

    Reply
  • 3. marathonmaiden  |  January 19, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    such a true impressions fact! and very frightening as well.

    and that is amazing weather! i’d die to enjoy it. well maybe not because i’d be dead then and not able to enjoy it haha 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Britt @ Runnerbelle  |  January 19, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    Oh that weather looks awesome, although it was snowing here today…. and I would still kill to be able run right now! I feel your pain.

    Reply
  • 5. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  January 20, 2010 at 6:06 am

    gah that seminar sounds frustrating indeed !!!

    Reply
  • 6. diana  |  January 20, 2010 at 7:52 am

    The weather has been so nice!! Sorry to hear the meeting wasn’t what you thought it was going to be. Didn’t realize it took 10 meetings to change someone’s impressions of you…yikes!

    Reply
  • 7. Shannon  |  January 20, 2010 at 8:26 am

    I would want to run too if that were our forecast. I’m really sorry you are dealing with this and I hope your foot is feeling better this morning.

    Reply
  • 8. Shelly  |  January 20, 2010 at 11:22 pm

    Bummer the seminar was a bust.

    Fashion advise? I just got done telling my mother how her attempts to teach me to dress “didn’t take.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

