And I r-u-nnnn…

January 20, 2010 at 1:24 pm 17 comments

I’ve been feeling rather cruddy for a day or two. Kind of like I’m on the brink of getting sick but not actually getting sick. Don’t know if it’s from traveling, just tired, not exercising, or what. So I did what any normal person would do.

I went for a run.

A test run I guess. I didn’t have a plan in mind, just walked out the door and went. I figured I’d stick close to the neighborhood so it’d be easy to stop if I was hurting. Knock on wood, I’m happy to say I don’t feel any worse than before I started!

I kept it light today (I’m guessing a mile and a half), and will try to jump back on schedule tomorrow.

DSCN0278

I wasn’t really in the mood for lunch, but I ate anyway in case it’d help  make me feel better.

Butternut Squash Ravioli from Lean Cuisine (I told you, groceries needed ASAP!)

 DSCN0557 

 DSCN0559

Not bad really. I kind of liked it. But if that’s twice the veggies what the heck is in the normal ones? 4 peas and a carrot?

 

I’m working on a grocery list since I’m seriously out of food, so I thought I’d share my process with you.

First I go through my grocery store’s weekly ad (I get it emailed me to me every Weds). I go through and mark anything I think I might want and email a list to myself

zz

Then I look for coupons that match the things on my list. I check online sites like coupons.com, then search for individual product coupons. (That way I get double savings when I use the coupon on sale items!)

zzzzz

After that, I think of what I want to eat for the week, going through recipes if I feel like it, or just thinking of what I like to have. Then I fill in the blanks on my list and go!

The best part of this week’s shopping is that I get to go to Whole Foods!! Once a month I work in a city near a Whole Foods, so I take advantage of it and stop by. Since it’s expensive, I use it more as a supplement to my regular shopping, not instead of. I usually only come out with about 2 items or so.

I usually stick to things I can’t get at the regular ol’ grocery store, but the veggies have been so sad looking this winter, I’m looking forward to checking out WF’s selection.

 

Where do you do your food shopping?

Entry filed under: Lunch, Training. Tags: , , , .

Eat, Pray, Love. Or Just Eat. Breakfast for Dinner

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anna  |  January 20, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    I’ve had that lean cuisine before– I agree with you– not bad actually!

    Reply
  • 2. marathonmaiden  |  January 20, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    i do the same thing before i hit up the grocery store. or try to at least. not always successful 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Kelly  |  January 20, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    I love Whole Foods, The Natural Grocer and Sprouts!

    Reply
  • 4. Kristine  |  January 20, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    That is the one lean cuisine I love!!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Britt @ Runnerbelle  |  January 20, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    Agreed, as far as Lean Cuisines go that one isn’t too shabby.

    My fun shopping trips are to Trader Joe’s. The closest one is on our way to Boston, so when we have to venture into the city I usually hit up TJ’s on our way home. I usually get there every other month or so. I’ve really bad about grocery shopping lately….. I wish I could say I planned it out as well as you do, but NOPE!

    Reply
  • 6. Erica  |  January 20, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    I love planning out my food list for the week! Love your method- I always start by looking at our local circular- I especially love the buy one get ones!! I was just about to head out for a run and you provided me with some extra inspiration- thank you!

    Reply
  • 7. Maria  |  January 20, 2010 at 4:10 pm

    I miss running outside but I am afraid of snow:) Enjoy Whole Foods!

    Reply
  • 8. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  January 20, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    Congrats on the run!
    I wish we had a Wholefoods in Australia….sounds fantastic!

    Reply
  • 9. Naomi (onefitfoodie)  |  January 20, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    whole foods is DA BOMB!! I also love trader joes and Shaws 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. fromatopink  |  January 20, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    I use a very similar process when grocery shopping! It works wonders for organization and money-saving. 🙂 I admire your willpower – I’m not sure I could walk out of Whole Foods with just a couple items!

    Reply
  • 11. lindsayruns  |  January 20, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    Sooo very jealous you hit up the Teeter on a weekly basis! I get the wednesday email too, always crossing my fingers that I’m the name attached to the gift cards. That is my once a month store, Whole Foods/Trader Joes is my once a season or so store. The base commissary isn’t so bad, I’d say it is between a Food Lion and a HT.

    Reply
  • 12. Ameena  |  January 20, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    I don’t plan very well so I end up at Trader Joe’s a few times a week buying way too much! But I get most everything there so I it is convenient!

    Reply
  • 13. Danielle  |  January 20, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    I wish we had a WF around here! I do my food shopping at Kroger + the local health food stores

    Reply
  • 14. onelittlejill  |  January 20, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    I try to do my major food shopping on Monday nights when no one else is there. Or I go to Wegmans after 10pm because usually it is quiet and kid-less. I like to get in, get what I need, and get out. I hit up Whole Foods and Trader Joes whenever I can, in one shot, because they are a bit of a hike from my house.

    Reply
  • 15. Heather  |  January 21, 2010 at 10:56 am

    Great way to plan your grocery shopping!

    I look at the weekly circular and then try to find recipes that incorporate what is on sale. Typically it doesn’t work out for me too well though.

    I could go spend my entire paycheck at whole foods – everything is amazing there.

    Reply
  • 16. shelly  |  January 21, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    Glad you got out! A run always makes me feel better.

    I shop at two local stores and in season the local farmers market (as well as going to the farmers who live near me). I grow some myself too. Bring on local fresh produce!

    Reply
    • 17. Heather  |  January 22, 2010 at 9:56 am

      I can’t wait to grow some myself!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

