Eat, Pray, Love. Or Just Eat.

January 20, 2010 at 8:53 am 12 comments

oats

Mm there’s something so comforting about MY version of oats 🙂 Even though I had oatmeal while I was gone, it just wasn’t the same 🙂 Today I enjoyed oatmeal and cottage cheese with cinnamon,  nutmeg, walnuts, wheat germ, flaxseed, and creamy yummy PB.

Since my breakfast is nothing new I thought I’d give you a book review with your morning coffee (or tea, or milk, or juice…..)

coffee 

 

As I told you, I took Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert on the plane with me. Even though I also had lots of magazines, I decided at the last minute to throw in In Defense of Food as well. (Good thing…I finished Eat, Pray, Love before I was half way through the 2nd flight!) First my thoughts on Eat, Pray, Love…I’ll save In Defense of Food for later because that’s just too much book for one post.

If you’re not familiar with it, Eat, Pray, Love is a personal account of one woman’s quest for happiness while traveling through Italy, India, and Indonesia. The book is divided into 3 sections, one for each country. I really enjoyed the section on Italy—I loved hearing about the different cities and all the vivid descriptions of her experiences with food. It kind of went downhill for me after that. I lost interest in the India section, mostly because it was all about meditation and sitting quietly for hours. The only thing more boring than sitting quietly for hours is reading about sitting quietly for hours. I don’t think I related well because I’m not into meditating- I’m just not good at it. If you have more patience for it than I do, you might enjoy this section, as she writes just beautifully. The last section on Indonesia was better than the previous section, but not quite as good as Italy. I could take it or leave it. I think I enjoyed how she said things rather than what she said. (I do have to admit here that I didn’t know Bali was in Indonesia—smack forehead here—good thing I figured it out though because later that weekend I met somebody going to Indonesia and I was actually able to have a decently intellectual conversation about it.)

The irony that I liked the “eat” chapter best does not escape me.

You could tell just from reading that the author has a very astute self-awareness. I loved where she was describing the differences between herself and her sister. She says all she ever wants to learn about something is the story, whereas her sister notices precise details. It reminded me that understanding how people “see” things can help you understand them all together- people pick up on different things because they have a different importance to them.

So I did appreciate the honesty in which the author shared her journey, the language she used to share it, and somewhat enjoyed following her on her path of self-revelation, but if I were Oprah I probably wouldn’t have thought about calling her.

One of my favorite pieces of advice from the book: “You gotta stop wearing your wishbone where your backbone oughtta be.”

Entry filed under: books, Breakfast. Tags: , , , .

Personal Branding And I r-u-nnnn…

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  January 20, 2010 at 9:10 am

    There is really something to be said for adding peanut butter to oatmeal… I think that’s really what gets me through the last 15 minutes before lunch!

    Reply
  • 2. Anna  |  January 20, 2010 at 9:39 am

    lol– loved the title of this post.

    I’m glad to hear that you had mixed feelings about this book…I didn’t really like it, and I felt like everyone around me just LOVED it! Honestly, as a narrator…she kind of got on my nerves!

    Oh well 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. marathonmaiden  |  January 20, 2010 at 10:00 am

    i love that piece of advice! i haven’t read the book but everyone i know praises it. i’m a bit skeptical and don’t think it’s up my alley. i like books with stuff being blown up haha 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. fromatopink  |  January 20, 2010 at 10:31 am

    Eat, Pray, Love is actually one of my favorite books, so I like hearing other opinions – it makes me want to read it again to see if I have a different view. I do think it’s one of those books where you get something different from it each time you read it, depending on where you are in life. I also just got her second book, Commited, and am a little hesitant to start it since it hasn’t gotten great reviews. Anyway, thanks for sharing your honest opinion! 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. brandi  |  January 20, 2010 at 10:34 am

    I still haven’t read that! Thanks for the review

    Reply
  • 6. Danielle  |  January 20, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    Nice book review- it sounds like something I’d like to read 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Lindsey @ Eat, Read, Run  |  January 20, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    You may think b/c my blog title is a spin-off of the Eat, Pray, Love book title that I would be obsessed with the book – but I wasn’t. I really liked it, but it hasn’t ranked as one of my all-time favorites. I did enjoy the eat section most as well. Great review!

    Reply
  • 8. Morgan @ Life After Bagels  |  January 20, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    yeah I really liked the Italy part too, then I got bored, in fact I don’t think I ever finished the book

    hmmm maybe the whole meditation thing isn’t for me afterall . . .

    Reply
  • 9. Heather  |  January 20, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    Thanks for the great book review. This one is on my shelf and is my next book to read. Ironically, I’m reading “In Defense of Food” now.

    Reply
    • 10. Heather  |  January 21, 2010 at 7:29 am

      Oh that’s funny! You’ll have to let me know what you think of In Defense of Food.

      Reply
  • 11. Shelly  |  January 20, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    I am not an oatmeal fan but I tired steel cut oats after reading about oats in the cooking light mag.

    I have to say. Still not a fan. But I will keep trying.

    Reply
    • 12. Heather  |  January 21, 2010 at 7:30 am

      Have you tried melting peanut butter on top? 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

