Coco-nutso

January 21, 2010 at 3:05 pm 13 comments

Well my half day turned into almost a full day! Good thing I packed a lunch 🙂

I brought a wrap, soup, yogurt, blueberries, and an orange. The wrap was a whole wheat tortilla with roasted red pepper hummus, turkey, and feta cheese.

food 008

I don’t really have a chance to sit down and eat a “real” lunch while I’m in clinic, so I just have to grab things as I have an opportunity (which doesn’t always happen!). It was rather odd to be eating crab soup at ten o’clock in the morning, but you gotta do what you gotta do. It does say something about eating before you’re hungry- I’ve been pretty satisfied all day, even though I couldn’t eat all my lunch at once.

I usually try to eat before I’m starving, but not when I’m actually not hungry yet like today. If I wait too long to eat, I get super cranky and I’m completely insatiable. Just ask anyone near me how pleasant I am when the hunger monster strikes 🙂

I don’t know what it is about wraps that makes them seem more portable than I sandwich, but that’s what I always gravitate towards. Maybe I’m just so uncoordinated that I require two hands to eat a sandwich? If you roll the wrap tight enough you only need one! Apparently I failed to notice the turkey I was using was “honey smoked”. The sweet honey flavor did not mesh well with the tangy hummus. I’ll know better for next time.

I’m trying to do better on my fruit intake….can you tell? A banana, 2 oranges, and blueberries in two days? Pretty good! (I only had a few blueberries as you can probably tell from the picture—I’m not entirely sure if I like them yet or not. I tried them for the first time this summer. I think I like them. I’ll let you know my final decision when the pint’s gone :)).

Look what I got in the mail yesterday:

coconut oil

Coconut oil!! It was in my order from iherb.com, along with a whole bunch of freebies I picked out 🙂 I’ve been wanting to try coconut oil for awhile now, and this was the perfect opportunity! I got it free with shipping only thanks to the whole code-program** thing. (You can use code GIR461 to get $5 off….then you get your own code that you can pass on to people and earn money from those orders and so on.)

Coconut oil is composed mainly of medium chain triglycerides. Benefits have been seen in many areas including increased immunity, heart health, digestion, stress relief, and skin care!! My winter-dried skin will appreciate this!

Entry filed under: Lunch. Tags: , , , , .

Mystery Grains Pizza Pizza!

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather  |  January 21, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    What a great lunch!

    I would eat fruit all day long – I have to try to make myself eat more veggies.

    I’m allergic to coconut so no coconut oil for me. Hope you enjoy it!

    Reply
  • 2. marathonmaiden  |  January 21, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    i absolutely love fruit. i think i could eat apples all day if i needed too! and i get the same way when i’m too hungry. i go into major beyotch mode and devour everything i see haha no bueno

    Reply
  • 3. theprocessofhealing  |  January 21, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    I’ve been meaning to check out that site and order some chia seeds.. i’ve been dying to try them!!

    Oh yes, i’m also so NOT fun to be around when i’m hungry. Anyway in my path, beware…

    And I love fruit! I could live off of it. Have you had fresh blueberries? The berries you get in the store do not even compare to fresh ones. I thought I didn’t like blueberries either until I had some local ones this past summer… OMG. I can’t wait until summer for all of the fresh fruits and veggies.

    Reply
    • 4. Heather  |  January 22, 2010 at 9:57 am

      I haven’t tried fresh ones–I’ll have to search for some this summer!

      Reply
  • 5. Anna  |  January 21, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    I’m a big fan of wraps too– they’re definitely more portable and one-hand friendly!

    Sounds like you got some cool stuff at iherb!

    Reply
  • 6. Estela @ Weekly Bite  |  January 21, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    Looking forward to see what you do with the coconut oil!

    Reply
  • 7. Heather (Heather's Dish)  |  January 21, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    i’ve heard really great things about coconut oil! tell us more about it when you use it? i just can’t justify spending $$$ right now 🙂

    Reply
    • 8. Heather  |  January 22, 2010 at 9:57 am

      Yup, I’ll definitely tell you more!! I’m glad I got it on the cheap 😉

      Reply
  • 9. greensandjeans  |  January 21, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    Coconut oil is such a crazy wonderful thing! Enjoy playing with it!

    Reply
  • 10. lindsayruns  |  January 21, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    love coconut oil…stirfries, and toast the oatmeal before you cook it, and body lotion, and chapstick, and baked goods…. and on and on! Enjoy!

    Reply
  • 11. Becca  |  January 21, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    I love Campbell’s Select harvest soups…I tried the crab one the other day though and it wasn’t my favorite…I’m not sure what it was about it but it didn’t sit well with me. I love the others though!!

    Reply
  • 12. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down)  |  January 22, 2010 at 8:05 am

    I think you’re absolutely right about wraps being more portable, somehow. Maybe it’s the fact that they can’t get squished and it’s all wrapped up in one convenient packet? Whatever the reason, I’m definitely picking up some whole wheat wraps next week.

    Good job on increasing your fruit consumption! 😀

    Reply
  • 13. Britt @ Runnerbelle  |  January 22, 2010 at 9:22 am

    I need to get my fruit intake back up a bit as well. Something about all the snow outside, I forget to buy fruit.

    Looking forward to hearing what you do with your coconut oil!

    Happy Friday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

