Pizza Pizza!

January 21, 2010 at 10:01 pm 8 comments

I jinxed myself when I said I only usually buy one or two things at Whole Foods. I came out with two full bags. Gulp. I just couldn’t resist the beautiful stacks of vegetables and vivacious grains. I got lots of good stuff though! Some great veggies, more grains, stocked up on almond milk (it’s actually cheaper there than at the Teeter). People probably thought I was crazy because I took pictures of each of the grains I bought so I wouldn’t forget again!

grain veggies

For dinner tonight I whipped up some homemade pizza so I could try out some of my new ingredients. Fresh basil, mozzarella cheese, and buckwheat flour.

I used my basic go-to pizza dough recipe, and made a few swaps.

Here’s the base recipe I use:

1 3/4c flour

2/3 cup warm water

1/2 packet yeast

dash of salt

splash of olive oil

Combine warm water and yeast. Then added in flour, salt , and oil. Mix for several minutes (if doing by hand knead 5-10 minutes). Allow to rise about an hour in warm place. When dough has doubled in size, roll out to form crust. Top with toppings galore and bake at 425 degrees for about 15 minutes. Enjoy!

dough

I almost always always do some variation on this dough. If you’re scared of crossing over into the world of homemade breads, I suggest starting with pizza dough. It’s hard to mess up. I always mix up the types of flours I use. I really like all whole wheat flour and my husband’s favorite version is about 1 cup all purpose flour with 3/4 cup whole wheat. I’ve done it with and without yeast, with and without olive oil, let it rise and not let it rise, thrown in different spices…the possibilities are endless. It’s easily doubled, tripled, whatever amount you need. And it freezes well too!

Last night I used the end both my whole wheat and all purpose flours. I’d guess a little more than 3/4c whole wheat flour, then topped off with all purpose flour to make a cup. Then I tried 3/4c buckwheat flour. It was too late at night to let it rise so I skipped that step.

Then I topped it off with a little leftover vodka sauce, a handful of torn spinach leaves, slices of mozzarella, and quite a few basil leaves.

pizza

My own version of a margherita pizza!

pizza

This version of the crust was good, but either the buckwheat flour and/or not letting rise made it a little too “heavy” for such delicate toppings.

pizza pizza

I had 2 slices to start with, then went back for 2 more!

pizza

pizza

Now off to finish Julie and Julia! I sure hope I stay awake this time!!

What’s your favorite pizza topping?

Entry filed under: Dinner. Tags: , , , , .

Coco-nutso Save the Liver!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theprocessofhealing  |  January 22, 2010 at 9:24 am

    that sounds delicious!!! I admit.. i’m scared of making any sort of bread. That’s the one thing that i’ve stayed away from trying to cook. Maybe I will start with pizza crust.. sounds easy enough!

    Reply
  • 2. Julie @ Pickley Pear  |  January 22, 2010 at 11:28 am

    Your pizza looks amazing! I think you are aware of my obsession with pizza. I, too, have never made my own dough, just seems easier to buy it, maybe I’m lazy! And…isn’t Whole Foods the greatest??!! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Heather (Where's the Beach)  |  January 22, 2010 at 11:31 am

    I love to make my own pizza dough. I make it super simple and let the bread machine do the hard work! YUMMY!

    Reply
  • 4. Doug  |  January 22, 2010 at 11:34 am

    That looks sooo good. As I am reading this I am eating a tombstone pizza…. probably NOT as healthy! I ll look at it as energy for the 5k tomorrow! 🙂

    Reply
    • 5. Heather  |  January 23, 2010 at 7:28 am

      Good luck on your 5k!!

      Reply
  • 6. shelly  |  January 22, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    Looks wonderful.

    Fav topping…fresh moz’ cheese and garlic! Yum yum yummy!

    Reply
  • 7. Karla  |  January 22, 2010 at 6:09 pm

    Oh goodness! That looks delicious! I’m obsessed with pizza! I never make it because I’ll eat it like it’s going out of style!

    Reply
  • 8. Jenna  |  January 23, 2010 at 8:02 am

    Mmm pizza!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

