Save the Liver!

January 22, 2010 at 9:17 am 14 comments

I finally got my hands on this baby:

sugar cookie tea

Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride Tea. I’ve heard from just about everybody that this is the best tea ever. I couldn’t find it anywhere, but I finally did yesterday! I know, I’m a little late on the whole holiday tea thing.

I immediately opened the box when I got home- the scent of freshly baked sugar cookies hit me in the face. I just couldn’t wait to try it.

While I waited for the water to warm up, I checked out the box to see what created the sugar cookie flavor. “Natural sugar cookie flavorings”—what the heck is that?!?!!

Anyways, I’m probably going to get ousted out of blog world for saying this, but…

….I didn’t like it.

The smell was divine. The taste, not so much. It reminded me of something but I couldn’t put my finger on it.

My oats, however, were wonderful.

 oats 

This mornings mix: oats, almond milk, cinnamon, nutmeg, pecans, walnuts, flax, wheat germ, Greek yogurt, and PB!

I finished Julie and Julia last night!! Just in the nick of time too, I fell asleep just as it ended! I loved it!! I don’t know if I can emphatically say I liked it better than the book (you can never learn as many details on the screen as you can on the page) but I think this is as close as I’ll ever come to saying that. To make a truly fair assessment, I probably need to read My Life in France (Julia Child’s account). I loved the juxtaposition of the two stories side by side. And I loved how sweet and supportive the husbands were! (Most of the time.)

zzzz

I felt I could really understand Julie’s frustrations more so in the movie than in the book. And Julia Child is just such a happy person- it’s contagious! I loved watching the ongoing process of working on her cookbook, especially knowing that it’s still selling well today.

I also liked the included the Julia Child SNL clip, because that’s the only reason I knew what Julia Child sounded like—and the only way I knew Meryl Streep did a spot-on job! Save the liver!

It almost makes me want to try one of her recipes….but nothing involving boning a duck or chopping a lobster.

 

Check out these giveaways:

Meg’s Gnu bars giveaway! My fave 🙂

Rookie on the Run’s Favorite things blogiversary!

Entry filed under: books, Breakfast. Tags: , , .

Pizza Pizza! Happy Things

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theprocessofhealing  |  January 22, 2010 at 9:23 am

    I loved that book. The movie WAS really good and I hardly ever say a movie is better. I wouldn’t say it was better in this case either but the movie gives you something the book doesn’t. I also want to read My Life in France.

    Yummy sounding oats!

    Reply
  • 2. brandi  |  January 22, 2010 at 10:54 am

    Yeah, I loved that there was more about Julia in the movie – mostly because Meryll Streep was AMAZING as Julia Child.

    Reply
  • 3. Anne Marie@New Weigh of Life  |  January 22, 2010 at 11:09 am

    I can’t get into hot tea no matter how hard I try.

    Reply
  • 4. Anna  |  January 22, 2010 at 11:19 am

    I am SO with you on that tea! I LOVE the smell, but the tea is just kind of meh.

    Reply
  • 5. Tricia  |  January 22, 2010 at 11:49 am

    LOVED the movie, I’ll have to check out the book.

    Reply
  • 6. Heather  |  January 22, 2010 at 11:58 am

    Thank you for not liking the tea – I thought I was the only one out there who didn’t find it exciting!

    I loved the book and movie equally. Meryl Streep made that movie amazing!

    Reply
    • 7. Heather  |  January 23, 2010 at 7:28 am

      I’m glad I’m not the only one!

      Reply
  • 8. cupcakesinparis  |  January 22, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    Wish I could find this tea in France. I love Celestial teas so much!
    And your post also reminded me that I need to watch Julie and Julia finally!

    Reply
  • 9. fromatopink  |  January 22, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    I’ve been searching for that tea forever, too! But unfortunately I have yet to find it. 😦 Didn’t read the book but LOVED the movie – am not sure it’s worth reading now, but I might give it a shot. Have a good weekend!

    Reply
  • 10. Mollie  |  January 22, 2010 at 5:27 pm

    Wow – ME TOO!! (as in, I also finished Julie and Julia last night). I think I’m going to blog about the book and make boeuf bourguinon next week…

    Definitely read My Life in France – it is sooooo good! I liked the Julie and julia movie, but I felt like it was kind of a waste of a great story…I want someone to make a movie starting Meryl Streep just of My Life In France. Paul and Julie Child are the best couple ever…

    Reply
    • 11. Heather  |  January 23, 2010 at 7:27 am

      Sounds like a good night to me! Can’t wait to read about it 🙂 I’ll have to add My Life in France to my list!

      Reply
  • 12. Katherine  |  January 22, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    I’m really bummed to hear that the Sugar Cookie tea wasn’t that great 😦 When I saw the picture, I was so excited and determined to hunt it down. But now I think I’ll pass, if the flavor isn’t as good as the scent.

    The movie was really cute–mostly because Meryl Streep did such a fantastic job. My grandpa even liked it!

    Reply
  • 13. Jenna  |  January 23, 2010 at 8:03 am

    I love reading your blog and I sm defs adding it to my blog roll! Hope u liked mine!!

    Reply
    • 14. Heather  |  January 23, 2010 at 1:34 pm

      Thank you! I love yours too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

