Pre-Bowled Oats

January 23, 2010 at 7:48 am 11 comments

Thanks to an old coupon I got myself a bowl of Amy’s oats on the cheap to try out 🙂

I know I’ve said I’m not a huge fan of instant oats, but I thought I’d give the frozen variety a try and see what I thought.

amy's oats

Well for starters, four minutes cooking time? That provides no benefit to me, except I don’t have to empty my whole cupboard to assemble my own bowl of goodies.

oats

i wasn’t overly impressed with the first bite. It was a little sweet tasting to me, and I don’t like sweet in my oats.

However, once I added the magic ingredient (peanut butter) I have to say the bowl won me over.

oats

It was pretty good- dense and chewy, and definitely satisfied my hunger. I wasn’t sure it would judging from the size, but it did. And I liked the texture!

Now, would I buy it again? Mm probably not unless I had another coupon that made it almost free. I can put my own oats together, cooked and all, in the same amount of time.

The best benefit? No stubborn oat-scrubbing of the bowl required. I hate how oatmeal turns into instant cement on the side of the bowl. 😦

Entry filed under: Breakfast. Tags: , , .

Ahhhhh, Friday! Run Reward

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenna  |  January 23, 2010 at 8:06 am

    Not a big oatmeal fan myself!

    Reply
  • 2. Anna  |  January 23, 2010 at 8:25 am

    That texture does look good! But I agree– the cost of a single bowl just doesn’t make it worth it, in my opinion.

    Although not having to scrub that bowl would be nice 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. april  |  January 23, 2010 at 8:54 am

    I’ve been wondering about those bowls! Thanks for the review!

    Reply
  • 4. greensandjeans  |  January 23, 2010 at 9:03 am

    Those single bowls are great in a pinch, but definitely not for every day! I try to fill my bowl up with water as soon as I’m done!

    Reply
    • 5. Heather  |  January 23, 2010 at 1:35 pm

      Me too. Maybe I should invent oatmeal bowl liners….

      Reply
  • 6. theprocessofhealing  |  January 23, 2010 at 10:19 am

    I’ve been curious about those bowls for a while but i’ve never tried them because of the price. I’ve never disliked an Amy’s product. But I agree, it is much more cost effective and in about the same amount of time to make your own.
    Cleaning oatmeal pots and bowls is a PAIN in the you know what 🙂

    Reply
    • 7. Heather  |  January 23, 2010 at 1:35 pm

      Yes indeed!!! I never use to make them in a pot but I figured it’s just as much to clean a bowl too haha

      Reply
  • 8. Estela @ Weekly Bite  |  January 23, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    It does look pretty convenient in the bowl, but I think I would prefer to cook them myself. Thanks for the review.

    Have a great weekend!

    Reply
  • 9. Heather (Where's the Beach)  |  January 23, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    Interesting, I haven’t seen those anywhere yet. Thanks for being daring and testing them out!!

    Reply
  • 10. Whole Body Love  |  January 23, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    I buy Amy’s meals about every two or three weeks. I have always wondered about her oats but I like to choose my own mix ins. Looks like you feel the same 😉

    Reply
  • 11. fromatopink  |  January 23, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    Hm I haven’t seen this product. But you’re right, it seems like making your own bowl would be easier (and cheaper). The only time I could see where it might come in handy is bringing it to work if you’re in a rush.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

