Run Reward

January 23, 2010 at 1:31 pm 6 comments

I waited way to long to eat lunch today! I’m not gonna lie, I took advantage of the free samples during my unanticipated detour to the grocery store on my way home from work. I had a couple apple slices, turkey, and cheese. (I know, I’m a rebel).

I was so hungry that I chowed down on my soup while I finished making the rest of my lunch, a quesadilla! (That’s why the bowl’s half empty). I was going to make a wrap, but I felt this called to be served quesa-style.

soup and quesadilla

A whole wheat wrap layered with turkey, mozzarella cheese, red onion slices, a handful of spinach, and quite a few fresh basil leaves.

spinach quesadilla

Mm something about the faint sweetness of the red onion combined with the oh-so-fresh zing of basil—happy flavors dancing all over my tongue!

quesadilla  

I also tried one of these babies that I picked up at WF the other day.

I don’t usually drink too many sodas, but every once in awhile they’re refreshing, so I thought I’d give this Zevia stuff a try. They pride themselves on their all-natural , zero-calorie ingredient list. I was surprised by the flavor- I thought it might be weak or bitter, but it was actually quite distinct and good! I don’t think I’d start drinking these all the time (all-natural doesn’t necessarily mean good for you) but I’d prefer this to sodas with all the crazy chemicals for sure!

 

On the agenda today:

– Studying!!

– Making stuffed shells for my friends with the new baby (I can only imagine they’re too tired and/or busy to cook!)

– Cleaning up and getting this house under control!

– The sun is shining so I’m using that as my motivation to finish all my work—I can reward myself with a run in the sun! (Told you sunshine makes me happy :))

What’s with all the crazy weather out west? Rain upon rain and snow snow snow?! Yikes! Hope everyone’s staying safe 🙂

 

What are you plans this lovely Saturday?!

Entry filed under: Lunch. Tags: , , .

Pre-Bowled Oats Stuffed Shell-athon

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theprocessofhealing  |  January 23, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    That soda sounds pretty good! I gave up sodas a while ago and I’ve never looked back. All the artificial stuff in them makes me feel yucky. But I might have to give that soda a try!

    Sounds like a busy day for you! I wish we had sunshine but it’s rainy and cold here. Yay haha I’m going to be spending the rest of my day doing schoolwork. No fun but you gotta do what you gotta do right. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Shannon  |  January 23, 2010 at 7:33 pm

    That is really nice of you to make a meal for your friends with the new baby. My sister-in-law had twins a few months ago and there was definitely no cooking going on for quite a while!

    Hope you had a good run. It was beautiful out there! I went cross-country skiing 🙂

    Reply
    • 3. Heather  |  January 23, 2010 at 8:14 pm

      Cross country skiing sounds so fun!!

      Reply
  • 4. fromatopink  |  January 23, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    How sweet of you to make a meal for your new parent friends! I’m going to my first baby shower tomorrow and am really looking forward to it. (Plus, it was fun to pick out teeny tiny clothes for her!)

    Reply
    • 5. Heather  |  January 24, 2010 at 7:45 am

      Aww have fun! I love how itsy bitsy baby clothes are 🙂

      Reply
  • 6. shelly  |  January 25, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    Playing catch up on reading blogs!

    Hope you had fun making shells…yummmy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

